Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand


bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Factory Sponsored Bavarian DEMON and HeliCommand Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
logolew
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Default HC3SX SBus question

Hello Guys

Just picked up a HC3SX.
Also getting a Futaba 8fghs on the way.
I have a few questions as I am new to both!

I understand that the 6203sb receiver is recommended. I believe that I will still be able to run my retracts with this set up, correct? Do I plug them into the SX or the RX?
What are guys using to connect the RX to the HC3SX?

I also have 3 servo style power leads (2 from the Hercules BEC, 1 from my buffer pack). Am I correct in assuming that I will be able to use the unused ports on the SX to plug these in?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jason
logolew is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:24 AM   #2
conefree
Registered Users
 
Posts: 588
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Downingtown, PA
Default

The only things you plug directly into the SX are the three swash servos and your tail servo. Everything else would plug into the receiver (e.g. switchglo pro, retracts, etc.)

Also, you should plan (appears as though you are set) to have one power lead to your rx and one to the sx for backup and also so that you aren't pulling all the power through either the rx or sx.
__________________
T-Rex 600 LE V2, T-Rex 450 Sport V2, Blade 130x/MCPx
Futaba 8FG/Spektrum DX6i
Freedom Isn't Free
conefree is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:19 AM   #3
DEMONjoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 681
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by conefree View Post
The only things you plug directly into the SX are the three swash servos and your tail servo. Everything else would plug into the receiver (e.g. switchglo pro, retracts, etc.)

Also, you should plan (appears as though you are set) to have one power lead to your rx and one to the sx for backup and also so that you aren't pulling all the power through either the rx or sx.
Not in this case. The channels 1-3 for servos of the 6203SB are the same in the S.BUS signal as well as on the direct Rx ports. So those are blocked for ail, elev and ESC. So you cannot use them for anything else.
Your retracts can be plugged into the Output2 on the HC (see connection diagram for details). Note that on this port only the signal is coming out on the inner pin, no power supply (as these pins are signal inputs when using the cable loom). You will have to split the cable up and get power from somewhere else, but no big deal.

And all power supply should always go directly to the HC, cause you want the shortes supply ways to the servos, which are the real power eaters. HC and Rx do need only a few crumps You can connect all power supplies to any of the ports of the HC which have red/black dots in the connection diagram. If occupied and none left, you can still use Y-leads. No problem.
Your Rx is connected to the HC simply by using one 3-pin gyro cable. That's all.

As I do not know how to post pictures here, send me an info with your email address and I will send you a picture of my connection, only useing one ESC/BEC lead, but anyway.

Joachim
__________________
CAPTRON Electronic GmbH
- bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Support Team -
DEMONjoe is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:37 AM   #4
logolew
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Default

Hello Joachim

Thanks for the quick reply, part of the reason I bought the SX!
Might have a few more questions when everthing arrives.

Thanks, Jason
logolew is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
logolew
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Default

Found a 6208 sbus RX for a good price, so might go that route to avoid splitting the retract wire.

Is the gyro cable a male or female?

Thanks, Jason
logolew is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:03 PM   #6
DEMONjoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 681
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Default

Ok, so you can use port 8 for the retracts, I guess. Not sure, never tried this. But should work.
The gyro cable is like servo plugs. Don't know if this is called female or male, never got rid of this But thinks it's female?!

Joachim
__________________
CAPTRON Electronic GmbH
- bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Support Team -
DEMONjoe is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand


bavarianDEMON/HeliCommand Factory Sponsored Bavarian DEMON and HeliCommand Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com