Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 05:36 PM   #1
leedawg
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Default Control lock out and crash with log and setup files

Hello this question was more directed at Mr. Mel to take a look at some log files and settings. I have a logo 600 3D that this was on. Was hot day out here in California and pretty dry. Was flying some aggressive sport and mild 3D. Near the end of the flight i was getting ready to land it. Helicopter pitched up and and when I gave it forward elevator it would not respond. Helicopter came right back at me and I ran out of the way as it crashed into the ground tail first. Was terrifying seeing a 600 coming right at you and its not responding at all to control inputs.

Well after it slid about 20 feet and came to a stop I went over to look at it and noted that the satellites were not flashing. (running spektrum DSM 2 sats). So a brown out I ruled out. My tentative guess is a static hit. I do not have the tail boom grounded (well I am going now in my rebuild) but I would like to have the log file interrupted I just see a bunch of errors then everything back to normal.

Any way any thoughts and suggestions from whoever or if anybody has had this happen to them id love to hear about it and what you did to prevent it from happening in the future. Thanks in advance. Lee
Attached Files
File Type: pdf log logo.pdf (229.3 KB, 63 views)
File Type: vbr Logo 600 settings.vbr (5.5 KB, 22 views)
leedawg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
NovaCX12
Registered Users
 
Posts: 577
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Default

Anyone take a stab at this? or maybe a good guess? I fly with this guy also and very curious to what possible causes occurred.
__________________
mCPX BL
NovaCX12 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:26 AM   #3
Stolla
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Elizabeth South Africa
Default

where the log did you crash, if from p2 you lost all communication between both sats and tx, exactly what happened to me on tdr. The sats also were solid afterwards, this is issue with vbar and sats that the solid lights are no guarantee they work!
This was main reason I converted to sbus.
Stolla is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:22 AM   #4
TdB
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

My guess is static hit, because the boom wasn't grounded.
The crash in the log is where it says "Aileron sensor out of range".

Tim

P.s. I don't think it helps to convert to SBus to prevent static hits...
__________________
450 Pro - Mini V-Bar V5.3 with governor - Mikado 450 head
S3156 - DS520 - Align ESC & Motor - Align 325 3G - Edge 60 mm tail - Hyperion 2200 35C
TdB is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:44 AM   #5
Phil777
Registered Users
 
Posts: 819
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Zealand
Default

im quite new to vbar, but as far as i know aileron sensor out of range is ussally just cyclic blowouts or binding, i doubt it would take your heli, i use to have a bit of binding and i had aileron sensor pop up a few times each flight

You seem to have alot of satellite interference, so like said above properly a static hit

Didn't your logo come with a static kit with it? might have been the difference in weather that day that caused a bad enough static hit to take your heli down,

Good you got out of the way though
Phil777 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 04:28 AM   #6
TdB
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

"Aileron sensor out of range" is when the heli hits the ground, its not the cause of the crash.

Tim
__________________
450 Pro - Mini V-Bar V5.3 with governor - Mikado 450 head
S3156 - DS520 - Align ESC & Motor - Align 325 3G - Edge 60 mm tail - Hyperion 2200 35C
TdB is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:15 AM   #7
Stolla
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Elizabeth South Africa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim de Boer View Post
My guess is static hit, because the boom wasn't grounded.
The crash in the log is where it says "Aileron sensor out of range".

Tim

P.s. I don't think it helps to convert to SBus to prevent static hits...

Tdr doesn't have static! Also he got inputs to channels missed which is not static
Stolla is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:11 AM   #8
airbound
Registered Users
 
Posts: 266
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Milford NH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stolla View Post
Tdr doesn't have static! Also he got inputs to channels missed which is not static
OP states he is running this on his Logo 600 --Walt--Static may be an issue ?
__________________
MQX---TREX 450 PRO FBL---TAROT 450 PRO FBL/AIRWOLF Fuse---FUSION 50 FBL--TDR---RotorMast V-22 Osprey----Mini-V--Beastx--Full V-Bar --Scorpion -- Kontronic Jive --- Pyro----DX8
FLYING IS SIMPLE---NOT HITTING THE GROUND IS HARD
airbound is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 12:10 PM   #9
dankcincy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincinnati,Ohio, USA
Default

.......
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dankcincy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:50 AM   #10
brain
Registered Users
 
Posts: 163
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morinville, Alberta
Default

Following my experience, the cause of your crash has come just two reason.
1/ Stactic hit. Make sure check the boom was grounded.
2/ Long motor bolt. I can see the warning "Sattelite data framing error " during almost your flying. If the motor bolt has touched the wire it also induce the same record. So double check it.
__________________
-Logo 600SX, Full size Blueline 5.3 + BLS 256 HV, Cyclic Fu BLS 252 powered by Life 2s 6.6 V, HK III 4035 - 500 kv + Vbar Gov, YGE 120 HV
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
brain is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:50 AM   #11
agagescu
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New York, New York
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leedawg View Post
Hello this question was more directed at Mr. Mel to take a look at some log files and settings. I have a logo 600 3D that this was on. Was hot day out here in California and pretty dry. Was flying some aggressive sport and mild 3D. Near the end of the flight i was getting ready to land it. Helicopter pitched up and and when I gave it forward elevator it would not respond. Helicopter came right back at me and I ran out of the way as it crashed into the ground tail first. Was terrifying seeing a 600 coming right at you and its not responding at all to control inputs.

Well after it slid about 20 feet and came to a stop I went over to look at it and noted that the satellites were not flashing. (running spektrum DSM 2 sats). So a brown out I ruled out. My tentative guess is a static hit. I do not have the tail boom grounded (well I am going now in my rebuild) but I would like to have the log file interrupted I just see a bunch of errors then everything back to normal.

Any way any thoughts and suggestions from whoever or if anybody has had this happen to them id love to hear about it and what you did to prevent it from happening in the future. Thanks in advance. Lee
Hey dude! Sorry to hear it. Check those sat cables cause they're either loose or you've got some bad sats.
agagescu is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 05:11 PM   #12
leedawg
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Default

Thanks for all the replys guys. Sorry I just saw all the response havent been in this part of the board for a couple of days. To answer some of the questions yes the crash i think occured on page 2 but really im not 100% sure how to verify where you actually are in the log file the numbers in the left column I assume are time of some sort. There are a lot of good health messages later on when it was laying on the ground and when we powered it up a couple of times to plug it into the computer after the crash.

The crash is still a bit of a mystery to me but I did get the helicopter back together. I changed the sats to JR DSMX sats and changed the sat cables to brand new ones. I also ordered the ground kit and groudned the boom have continuity from the tail idler bearing to the motor mount now.

I have flown it sevral times and noted no issues since the rebuild so hopefully problem solved. It would be hard to pin down what it actually was just thought maybe some of you who are experts and reading the log might see something in it that pointed to something blaring but I still have not found a smoking gun except for possibly the sats or static. SO I have hopefully eliminated both those variables Only time will tell.

As far as the motor mount bolts being too long I did check that and they dont even come all the way through the motor machined hole so nowhere near the windings so that is good to go.

Stolla sounds terrible yeah I was running futaba before I got pressure to switch to JR from the guys at the field. I wont lie that day I was wondering if I had perhaps made a poor choice and should have stuck with what I have used for the last 15 years.

Any way crossing my fingers all issues resolved thanks again all for the comments and taking the time to look at the files.

Lee
leedawg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:37 AM   #13
Stolla
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Elizabeth South Africa
Default

When you download the log keep in mind the logs on the bench as well so you have you to trace back to where you flew, if the crash did indeed occur p2, you did loose sats. I've recommended to my mates after both my sats failed to run full size rx, mostly because you will get a warning if a sat is bad, puling a signal wire on vbar will NOT give you a flashing led so the only way you will know if both sats work is to disconnect them one by one and test each one. This was recommended by vstabi, for me was not acceptable which is why I changed, also glue all your wires where they enter the little connector, i.e. don't glue them to sat, only wire and plugs. in the end I prefer the sbus,6203 is small cheap and much less clutter. Don't feel bad I also went from fut-jr-fut
Stolla is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com