Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 08:59 PM   #1
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default subtrim or not

so i finally got my receiver today and i am ready to start programing my 3gx unit, my first problem is subtrim, do i use the transmitter subtrim to 90 my servo's or is it adjusted in the 3gx v2 unit?
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:51 PM   #2
scoio
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,143
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italy - Japan
Default

First get the servo arm as close to 90 as possible, swap them all the way around the other servos in order to find the best suit.Than you can use few clicks of subtrims in your TX, but ONLY in DIR mode.

Chris
__________________
Lynx-heli team pilot
scoio is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:29 AM   #3
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

what do you mean by ONLY in dir mode
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:25 AM   #4
kdsguy1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 372
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: nacodgoches, texas
Default

dir mode is what you go into to set up the 3gx while in dir mode you set up your servo(subtrim) level your swash find 0 pitch your max and min collective and your 8 deg cyclic if any subtrim is ever used again you only do it in dir mode read the manual or use the software and follow it step by step
__________________
control crash expert!
blade 450x, edge blades, more coming. trex 550e v2, hc3sx, cc100, edge 553, cc bec pro
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
trex 550e v2, 7200bx, cc100, cc bec pro, edge 523trex 450pro v2 7200bx, dx8 edge blades, hs5065 mg, kds 450sv,
kdsguy1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:28 AM   #5
scoio
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,143
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italy - Japan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony1 View Post
what do you mean by ONLY in dir mode
Mean that you can use subtrim only during programming mode (DIR), when you have to get 90 on servos, swash leveled, desired pitch and cyclic on blades.
Meaning, do not give any trim or subtrim on the hely while you are flying it.

Hope It helps

Chris
__________________
Lynx-heli team pilot
scoio is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:29 AM   #6
scoio
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,143
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italy - Japan
Default

EDIT: Kdsguy1 beat me for 3 min!!
__________________
Lynx-heli team pilot
scoio is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:43 AM   #7
Random_Hero
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denmark
Default

Quick Question on 450 Pro 3gx:
Swash Level: is it Only In Middel Is Has To Be Leveled? Or Top, middel and Buttom?
Thanks In Advance.
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro V2, Super Combo with ar7200bx.
Align T-Rex 500EFL Super Combo, ar7200bx
Spektrum DX7S
Random_Hero is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:37 AM   #8
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

thanks you both i will jump on it right away
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:50 AM   #9
kdsguy1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 372
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: nacodgoches, texas
Default

sorry we are all here to help!




Quote:
Originally Posted by Random_Hero View Post
Quick Question on 450 Pro 3gx:
Swash Level: is it Only In Middel Is Has To Be Leveled? Or Top, middel and Buttom?
Thanks In Advance.
it is best to get level at low middle and high there is debate about not being level in all positions causes drift as well as pitch being the same 360 deg around the heli, i have heard also that the 3gx (only leveling at mid stick) will take care of the high and low in flight but i dont know about that. i had a drift and went back to the bench and releveled and made high and low level and no more drift soooooo the debate continues
__________________
control crash expert!
blade 450x, edge blades, more coming. trex 550e v2, hc3sx, cc100, edge 553, cc bec pro
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
trex 550e v2, 7200bx, cc100, cc bec pro, edge 523trex 450pro v2 7200bx, dx8 edge blades, hs5065 mg, kds 450sv,
kdsguy1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:24 PM   #10
Random_Hero
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denmark
Default

[QUOTE=kdsguy1;3935389] sorry we are all here to help!






it is best to get level at low middle and high there is debate about not being level in all positions causes drift as well as pitch being the same 360 deg around the heli, i have heard also that the 3gx (only leveling at mid stick) will take care of the high and low in flight but i dont know about that. i had a drift and went back to the bench and releveled and made high and low level and no more drift soooooo the debate continues [/QUOTE

Ok. Thanks. I Guess Its best to level all 3 Pos.
And To Do that it is with Subtrim And Travel-length? (off Course In Dir-mode)
Thanks!
__________________
Align T-Rex 450 Pro V2, Super Combo with ar7200bx.
Align T-Rex 500EFL Super Combo, ar7200bx
Spektrum DX7S
Random_Hero is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:01 PM   #11
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

ok next question, i have been told that i need to set my swash mix to 120 ccpm or sr3 in my futaba radio but the first page of the 3gx setup says to disable swash mix if available, what do i do, i have to say that the setup so far is very confusing and not giving me a lot of confidence that i am getting it right
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:02 PM   #12
d.porte
Registered Users
 
Posts: 387
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: FRANCE / 57
Default

I saw this great system on a raptor 90 4g today. With this system, compatible with align servos, the 90 angle is everytime perfect !!I will buy a set for my 600 efl.
http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/pv1603_metal_cyclic_servo_horn-p-16689.html
__________________
GOBLIN 700 competition / CC 160HV / KDE 700XF 495 / MSH Brain/IKON (ordered)
ALIGN T-REX600EFL Pro / CC 80HV+ / KDE 600XF-530 / MSH Brain/IKON

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
d.porte is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:18 PM   #13
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

ok i think i've finished the setup, not very confident its all good but i will give it another check tomorrow, last thing i noticed is that the gov light is green should it be off for no governor or is this light for something else, very confusing to set up!
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:22 PM   #14
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony1 View Post
ok i think i've finished the setup, not very confident its all good but i will give it another check tomorrow, last thing i noticed is that the gov light is green should it be off for no governor or is this light for something else, very confusing to set up!
Means nothing but cant be dissabled by turning off gear channel and then it will go red.
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:25 PM   #15
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony1 View Post
ok next question, i have been told that i need to set my swash mix to 120 ccpm or sr3 in my futaba radio but the first page of the 3gx setup says to disable swash mix if available, what do i do, i have to say that the setup so far is very confusing and not giving me a lot of confidence that i am getting it right
It doesn't say to disable swash mix, it says to dissable any mixing and that's different.
If you not comfortable with your setup I wouldn't fly it unitil you sure.
Confused about something post it so you can make sure your on track
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:02 AM   #16
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

good morning, so i have checked my setup this morning and everything is moving in the right direction, and now for the $65,000 question, there are a lot more settings that i can adjust, is there a procedure for doing this, can i try it on the default settings ? do i add expo in my transmitter? i know its personal prefference but is there something i should adjust before the test flight?
thank you
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:37 AM   #17
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony1 View Post
good morning, so i have checked my setup this morning and everything is moving in the right direction, and now for the $65,000 question, there are a lot more settings that i can adjust, is there a procedure for doing this, can i try it on the default settings ? do i add expo in my transmitter? i know its personal prefference but is there something i should adjust before the test flight?
thank you
This is the 450Pro right?
for initial flight since you don't know what to expect, set expo in the software to third setting/ none in the tx for cyclic expo. Drop the flip and roll rates / control rates 10 from default.
On a 450 drop travel limits aditional 5 points from where the swash binds on the main shaft with the cyclic stick held in the corners.
Set normal TC 0 60 80 85 90 and PC 0 40 45 50 75 100. 12 - 13 max pitch, 60 for TC ,1/4 stick gets the head speed up and stabulizes it before it gets light on the skids.
When checking max pitch use standard gauge and rotate the head 360 and make sure it reads the same all the way around. If it doesn't it = wobbly piros and drift
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:51 AM   #18
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

thank you very much,yes its a 450 pro, the only change is that i am using the castle ice lite 50 set to governor mode but all the rest is standard, i will still take your advice on the rest as it makes sense, again thank you so much for your time
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:57 AM   #19
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony1 View Post
thank you very much,yes its a 450 pro, the only change is that i am using the castle ice lite 50 set to governor mode but all the rest is standard, i will still take your advice on the rest as it makes sense, again thank you so much for your time
Your welcome, good luck
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 11:33 AM   #20
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

thank you, just going to go and spool it up and iy started raining so this is a good time to triple check everything
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
mini protos skookum 540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com