Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mQX


mQX Blade mQX Quad Helicopters Information and Help


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Varc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,266
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Parker, Colorado
Default Can't Replace, so Repair!

Okay, last week I broke one of the thruster booms during a crash. Can't find a replacement part for it locally, and need to get it fixed for flying this Wednesday.
What's the best way to fix the carbon thrust boom?
__________________
MH RedDevil NCPX
Blade 300x ?, Blade NQX
Helimax EC145 Eurocopter, 1SQ Vcam, Walkera QR W100, DX7. Rakon Rep.
Varc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:41 PM   #2
nauticusva
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: williamsburg, va
Default

You can do what I had to do. Lowes sells square alum tubing that is just a hair larger than the stock carbon rods. I replaced the coated wire out of the stock arms.

The tubing is in the hardware section, hobby parts bin. 2 pack of 6" square alum tubing. I used solid core wire from radio shack and reused the factory connectors on the 4-1 and motor sides.
Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
nauticusva is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
Varc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,266
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Parker, Colorado
Default

I don't think I need to do any wiring work, nor do I want to. I just want to fix the thruster boom.
Wouldn't the aluminum tubing make it heavier also?
__________________
MH RedDevil NCPX
Blade 300x ?, Blade NQX
Helimax EC145 Eurocopter, 1SQ Vcam, Walkera QR W100, DX7. Rakon Rep.
Varc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:58 PM   #4
nauticusva
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: williamsburg, va
Default

The alum tubing is grams heavier. Not really a noticable difference. And if you don't use factory booms, you are going to have to split the broken ones open to get the wires out. Personally, I don't like messing with enamel coated wires. I was surprised how easy it was to re-solder the factory plugs onto new wires.

Perhaps someone else has had success in this area. This was my first attempt, and so far so good.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
nauticusva is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Varc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,266
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Parker, Colorado
Default

Well, thanks for the tips. If worse comes to worse, I suppose I can fly my two Flyzone airplanes, the Albatross and my Red Barron Wednesday. Hopefully, it won't be too windy for the little guys.
__________________
MH RedDevil NCPX
Blade 300x ?, Blade NQX
Helimax EC145 Eurocopter, 1SQ Vcam, Walkera QR W100, DX7. Rakon Rep.
Varc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 10:44 PM   #6
diabolic-mind
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: united states
Default

a very useful trick i do all the time with just such repairs. using a very small amount of superglue, glue the boom back together. just enough to hold it in place. then, using some sewing thread, get a small amount covering the cracked/broken area with a little excess on either side of it. then start wrapping the thread around the glue while its wet so that it soaks into the thread. once you notice it is starting to look a bit dry, get the thread wet with more superglue and continue wrapping. do this as much as you feel is needed to make it strong. it works as a excellent cast and usually holds up indefinately. as an example, i have used this method to repair broken dog bones in rc cars and had them run just like new. the only downside is that the cast area will be slightly thicker. other than being a bit of an eye sore it shouldnt have any negative effects, and will get you back out flying until you can get a replacement. hope that helps you
diabolic-mind is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:24 AM   #7
nauticusva
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: williamsburg, va
Default

I'll keep that trick in mind. Thanks.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
nauticusva is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:55 AM   #8
ErikIL77
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Default

Wouldn't the alum booms be more prone to damage even in light crashes? I've cartwheeled my MQX a few times with no damage, but I'm not sure such a thin piece of alum. would hold up to that.
ErikIL77 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 11:03 AM   #9
Varc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,266
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Parker, Colorado
Default

I've wondered about adding extra thickness to the boom where the motor cover snaps into place. I don't want to add any thickness in the area where it might interfere. Will have a look at it later today. Thanks for the tips!
__________________
MH RedDevil NCPX
Blade 300x ?, Blade NQX
Helimax EC145 Eurocopter, 1SQ Vcam, Walkera QR W100, DX7. Rakon Rep.
Varc is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > mQX


mQX Blade mQX Quad Helicopters Information and Help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com