Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2012, 07:54 AM   #1
Gemma the Dog
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Question YGE Gov store mode setup

Hi guys - sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm new to YGEs

I've just got a prog card III for my YGE 80 LV. I want to use gov-store and have seen a video and another thread suggesting spooling up without any blades with a battery charged to 4v per cell.

My question is - do I go in to the 2nd menu on the progcard, select Gov store on the prog card and hit ENTER, and at that point should I spool up to 100% throttle and wait for a slight drop in speed?

Or after hitting enter to I power off, disconnect the progcard and reconnect the ESC to the RX and *then* power up to 100% and wait for the slight dip in power after it reaches full speed?

I ask because after reaching that stage (having set the stop and full throttle positions on menu 1 already), after pressing ENTER on gov store mode increasing the throttle does not start the motor up....so I assume I need to disconnect the progcard and then spool up?

thanks in advance!

Jonathan
Gemma the Dog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:29 PM   #2
Steve Evans
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leighton Buzzard UK
Default

Enable gov store, power down, and then disconnect the ProgCard. When you next connect power you'll hear a set of single beeps indicating that you're in gov store mode. Then spool up with no blades and a full battery (this is best as it is repeatable) to 100% throttle. This is best done with no blades as RPM can be rather high at max throttle.

You can see a plot of what happens HERE.

Then set your throttle to a flat curve at a suitable percentage to achieve your desired headspeed.

Steve
__________________
Trex 450SEv2/HS65-MGs cyclic/Spartan Quark/DS520 tail
Trex 450ProV2 DFC/CGY750 FBL/DS410s cyclic/DS520 tail
Trex 500ESP DFC/CGY750 FBL/YGE-120LV ESC/DS510s cyclic/DS650 tail
Futaba 8FG 2.4GHz
Steve Evans is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 06:19 AM   #3
Gemma the Dog
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Many thanks Steve, that makes it much clearer (not sure why they can't spell it out quite that clearly in the 'manual' that comes with the prog card!

cheers

Jonathan
Gemma the Dog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:13 AM   #4
beans07
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vic, Australia
Default

Are you suppposed to calibrate the tx before setting gov store or after selecting gov store?
__________________
Synergy E7 + E5 ~ Logo600SX + 600SE + 550SX ~ Synergy N7 + N5C ~ Mini P ~ Trex 450L ~ Gaui X3
beans07 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
Steve Evans
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leighton Buzzard UK
Default

Set the Stop and Full Power before anything else.

Then when you enable the gov. store you need to re-store the PWM or it will be reset to 8kHz.

Steve
__________________
Trex 450SEv2/HS65-MGs cyclic/Spartan Quark/DS520 tail
Trex 450ProV2 DFC/CGY750 FBL/DS410s cyclic/DS520 tail
Trex 500ESP DFC/CGY750 FBL/YGE-120LV ESC/DS510s cyclic/DS650 tail
Futaba 8FG 2.4GHz
Steve Evans is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:11 PM   #6
cudaboy_71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,376
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sacramento, ca
Default

hey guys.

i'm helping a flying buddy set up his yge 120 with a gov using the prog card III. i've read the above posts and that helps out considerably with the germ-lish instructions.

i'm left with one problem: after setting gov-store and running up the heli, do i leave the ESC in gov-store mode? or do i plug the card back in and set it to regular gov mode? i ask because when i spooled it up again, it sounded like it performed the same routine....that is spooling up to a point short of 100%, hesitating for a moment then settling at 100%.

to be honest that sounds more like what the instructions say the regular gov mode should do. so, really i'm scratching my head wondering if i really got the gov-store mode set properly. i verified twice that i had set gov-store, pressed the enter key (beeped) and shut down; and spooled up to 100% (no blades).

and, yes i did stop/full calibration prior to all of this.

any suggestions? or just trust that the gov is working. i'm very reluctant to tell him "go fly" if i've given him a bogus setup.

thanks.
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:28 PM   #7
Steve Evans
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Leighton Buzzard UK
Default

The first time you power up the ESC after enabling gov store you'll hear a series of single beeps. That tells you it's ready to record max head speed. Spool up to 100% throttle (no blades is OK) and you'll get the kick. When you next connect power you won't get the beeps and you should use a flat throttle curve of appropriate % of the max head speed.

Steve
__________________
Trex 450SEv2/HS65-MGs cyclic/Spartan Quark/DS520 tail
Trex 450ProV2 DFC/CGY750 FBL/DS410s cyclic/DS520 tail
Trex 500ESP DFC/CGY750 FBL/YGE-120LV ESC/DS510s cyclic/DS650 tail
Futaba 8FG 2.4GHz
Steve Evans is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:02 PM   #8
cudaboy_71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,376
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sacramento, ca
Default

great! thanks. he's off to borrow a sky tach, and hopefully get this thing maidened.
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 10:12 AM   #9
maarset
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,136
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Default

Pete has some good instructions here on Gov Store.

http://elektrorc.com/article_info.php?articles_id=6
__________________
Logo 600SE VBAR GOV/YGE
Logo 500 VBAR GOV
Warp 360L VBAR
000283
maarset is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 02:02 PM   #10
cudaboy_71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,376
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sacramento, ca
Default

thanks, mike. that's about what i gathered from the original instructions. but, it's nice to have it explained in proper english.

so, have you seen what Brian has been working on--that's what we're talking about here ;-)
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 03:12 PM   #11
maarset
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,136
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rocklin, Ca
Default

I'm in the dark... Maybe it is a Goblin????

I just got my Logo 500 going with the VBAR GOV / YGE combo. OMG it is awesome! And it spools up way better than with the Castle / VBAR GOV combo.
__________________
Logo 600SE VBAR GOV/YGE
Logo 500 VBAR GOV
Warp 360L VBAR
000283
maarset is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 04:17 PM   #12
cudaboy_71
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,376
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sacramento, ca
Default

i've been vowed to silence, tho there are one or two that know already.

back on topic, the heli has been hovered and the headspeed is holding well. so, i guess i got the gov set. he never got the sky tach to establish a known headspeed, so he's just running at 75% flat curve. and, to top it all off the tail servo is acting up. so, it's grounded until another torq 9188 shows up --they just came back in stock on tuesday...so, i hope it's in the mail.
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com