Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Nitro Helicopters


700 Class Nitro Helicopters 700 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 10:34 PM   #1
tukkus
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA. USA
Default Question about V1 head

I recently bought a used V1 FBL head and I'm installing it on my heli.

My question is, is the washout base supposed to float on the main shaft. I'm not sure if the washout base is supposed to be secured to something because it looks like there's nothing to secure it to.

I found an online manual but it really doesnt explain much.
tukkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:42 PM   #2
tshelby73
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,121
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gillette, WY, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tukkus View Post
I recently bought a used V1 FBL head and I'm installing it on my heli.

My question is, is the washout base supposed to float on the main shaft. I'm not sure if the washout base is supposed to be secured to something because it looks like there's nothing to secure it to.

I found an online manual but it really doesnt explain much.
you have to tighten it down to the mainshaft with one of the screws that hold one of the arms.

You should be at 0 pitch, arms should be parallel with each other and pitch links should be straight inline with mainshaft. you need to turn it on the mainshaft to line up pitch links.
__________________
450 Pro Flybar converted to Vbar DFC, Castle w/vbar governor.
Raptor G4 E720 Scorpion 4525-520, Castle 160HV w/Vbar Gov 1850-2050
Futaba 8fg
tshelby73 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:49 PM   #3
tukkus
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA. USA
Default

Ahh, does this mean I have to buy a special pitch tool for this FBL head ?

Thanks for the reply.
tukkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:36 AM   #4
tukkus
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA. USA
Default Coverting to FBL head..what do I need ?

I have an Align 700n and I'm converting it to a V1 FBL head that I bought recently.

My question is, do I need a special pitch gauge or something for the FBL head ?

As you can already tell this is my first FBL head so I'm in uncharted waters.

I have today off from work so a trip to Helidirect is in my near future.
tukkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:04 AM   #5
McKrackin
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BFE
Default

Some use a fake flybar that mounts in the head button hole.

Me,I just use something level in the background as a reference. Like the top of a door frame or a shelf or anything level I can see past the heli.

Uses the same pitch gauge.

You can get a digital pitch gauge but you don't need it.
McKrackin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:11 AM   #6
McKrackin
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BFE
Default

See what I mean?
Line the pitch gauge up with the top of my garage door.

McKrackin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:37 AM   #7
SQRT(-2)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,888
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbia MO USA
Default

If you feel fancy there is also some other options:

A gravity pitch gauge could also work:



Or a digital one:



Or your Iphone (if you have one) and an app you can download for free. You may have to make an adapter so you can set the phone on the blades. A shelf on your old pitch gauge could work.
__________________
Gaui Hurricane w/ 530mm blades & Robird G31
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Walkera Super CP
Walkera Devo 10 w/ Deviation
SQRT(-2) is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 11:29 AM   #8
K2Freak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,754
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

No, but you do need to set the phasing correctly as described above. The pitch links need to parallel the main shaft.
__________________
700E CHP DL 780mm / VBar Silverline / HK-4525 / YGE 160HV / MKS DS660A+ / MKS DS760 / Gryphon Quasar / Scorpion BUG / KDE / Futaba T12Z

Citizen 97
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 11:53 AM   #9
tshelby73
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,121
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gillette, WY, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tukkus View Post
Ahh, does this mean I have to buy a special pitch tool for this FBL head ?

Thanks for the reply.
Hopefully you have a digital pitch gauge, if not you can use a manual gauge but you will need something to screw into center headbutton screw that gives you a level plane to use with gauge. I think align sells them separate and calls them a pitch tool, they normally come with the kit. I used my flybar holding tool on my 450.
__________________
450 Pro Flybar converted to Vbar DFC, Castle w/vbar governor.
Raptor G4 E720 Scorpion 4525-520, Castle 160HV w/Vbar Gov 1850-2050
Futaba 8fg
tshelby73 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 05:50 AM   #10
lowsmoke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 162
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway, Stord
Default

If you have a Android phone, you can download from android market a free app for measuring pitch. It uses the phones built in leveler. I use a rubber band around my phone and blade, to strap it down.
lowsmoke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:22 AM   #11
mgorgis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsmoke View Post
If you have a Android phone, you can download from android market a free app for measuring pitch. It uses the phones built in leveler. I use a rubber band around my phone and blade, to strap it down.
How do you know that the phone attachment to the blade doesn't give some offset that need to be compensated for?
mgorgis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #12
lowsmoke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 162
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Norway, Stord
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgorgis View Post
How do you know that the phone attachment to the blade doesn't give some offset that need to be compensated for?
The zero calibration button needs pressing when at mid stick.
lowsmoke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 11:15 AM   #13
ahperson
Registered Users
 
Posts: 531
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canton, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsmoke View Post
The zero calibration button needs pressing when at mid stick.
I do the same thing. I make sure the heli is level with a bubble level and then I use a metal straight edge ruler that I attach to grips. I set my android phone on the ruler securing it with rubberbands and calibrate it to zero. I use the "rc-heli pitch gauge" app, but I think there's others.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2
ahperson is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 11:17 AM   #14
Ah Clem
Registered Users
 
Posts: 15,920
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

What McKrackin said!
__________________
KBDD-Team Pilot/ Team Compass/ ProStar Hobbies/ Team JR Americas/ Gens Ace Field Representative/ Robird Demo Pilot / Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50
Ah Clem is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:27 PM   #15
mgorgis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sweden
Default

I see
mgorgis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:55 AM   #16
koppterx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,043
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moreno Valley CA
Default

i use the head button and the chord line on the blades to set zero. simple and it works as well as any pg.. and im talking 90s and 550s, not little stuff. alan szabo told me he hasn't touched a pg in yearsl and its easy to see why with fbl..
koppterx is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Nitro Helicopters


700 Class Nitro Helicopters 700 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com