Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters > Atom 7HV


Atom 7HV Compass Atom 7HV Model Helicopter Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 07:16 AM   #1
TwinTurbo95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,068
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Augusta, Ga
Default How do you guys wire up your reciever packs for HV servos?

Hey guys,

This is my first HV servo set up. I will be using a 2S Lipo.

On all my previous non-HV set ups I've been using a LiFe battery with a switch, like this:
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...arness-SPM9530

Can I use this switch with HV servos or do the HV servos pull too many amps?

If I can't use this switch then what can I use? I thought about soldering two servo wires together connected to a deans and just plug both servo ends into the reciever. But I would rather have a switch.

Thanks
__________________
Compass 7HV: BeastX - MKS HV
Gaui X4 V2: BeastX - Scorpion
Blade 300X: Hyperion - Hitec - JR
TwinTurbo95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:24 AM   #2
DannyvG
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Default

I wouldnt even use that switch for lifepo...
you want at least 2 and preferably 3 servo plugs for power and no switch in between.

Best would be a skookum soft switch power bus or a perfect regulator safe switch.
__________________
2x Logo 600SX
DannyvG is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:53 AM   #3
TwinTurbo95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,068
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Augusta, Ga
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djamgils View Post
I wouldnt even use that switch for lifepo...
you want at least 2 and preferably 3 servo plugs for power and no switch in between.

Best would be a skookum soft switch power bus or a perfect regulator safe switch.

A Skookum power bus came with my kit, but I'm OCD and hate a ton of wires.

Just soldering two servo cables together with a deans on the end is enough?
__________________
Compass 7HV: BeastX - MKS HV
Gaui X4 V2: BeastX - Scorpion
Blade 300X: Hyperion - Hitec - JR
TwinTurbo95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:08 AM   #4
DannyvG
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Default

yep that could work, although 3servo plugs is better (only 2.5A continuous per plug) and deans suck imho. So you are better of with EC3 or XT60 or.... but not deans.
__________________
2x Logo 600SX
DannyvG is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:17 AM   #5
TwinTurbo95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,068
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Augusta, Ga
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djamgils View Post
yep that could work, although 3servo plugs is better (only 2.5A continuous per plug) and deans suck imho. So you are better of with EC3 or XT60 or.... but not deans.

I'll order me a Perfect Regulator switch. But to maiden this weekend I'll just have to make me a cable
__________________
Compass 7HV: BeastX - MKS HV
Gaui X4 V2: BeastX - Scorpion
Blade 300X: Hyperion - Hitec - JR
TwinTurbo95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:21 AM   #6
Jamesppp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,051
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Carrollton,Georgia
Default

I have a very clean install with the Skookum soft switch Powerbus
I'm using a bind plug in the switch position for better visibility
I shortened the Sk wires between the Sk 720 and the Powerbus
I'm powering 4 outrage Torq servos and using a Futaba S bus as satellite
__________________
Compass7HV,Sk720HeliJive120HV Pyro 700 52L allHV
Outrage 550: Scorpion 4020-1390,CC125A ESC,WR ESC
Logo 5003D Scorpion Sk720 4020-1100, Blade130X MCPX
TT E-620 SE x 2: Scorpion 4025-740 200srx, nano qx JR Parkmites x 2
Jamesppp is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:31 AM   #7
TwinTurbo95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,068
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Augusta, Ga
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesppp View Post
I have a very clean install with the Skookum soft switch Powerbus
I'm using a bind plug in the switch position for better visibility
I shortened the Sk wires between the Sk 720 and the Powerbus
I'm powering 4 outrage Torq servos and using a Futaba S bus as satellite

__________________
Compass 7HV: BeastX - MKS HV
Gaui X4 V2: BeastX - Scorpion
Blade 300X: Hyperion - Hitec - JR
TwinTurbo95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:40 AM   #8
Jamesppp
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,051
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Carrollton,Georgia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurbo95 View Post
I have a pic posted on the Skookum board so I can't post it here

I tried to copy/paste a link to the post but couldn't make it work using my phone

EDIT here is a link to the crappy phone pic

http://helifreak.com/showpost.php?p=4035902&postcount=1
__________________
Compass7HV,Sk720HeliJive120HV Pyro 700 52L allHV
Outrage 550: Scorpion 4020-1390,CC125A ESC,WR ESC
Logo 5003D Scorpion Sk720 4020-1100, Blade130X MCPX
TT E-620 SE x 2: Scorpion 4025-740 200srx, nano qx JR Parkmites x 2

Last edited by Jamesppp; 07-12-2012 at 06:24 PM..
Jamesppp is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Model Helicopters > Atom 7HV


Atom 7HV Compass Atom 7HV Model Helicopter Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com