Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters > 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 07:41 PM   #1
Josh S
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lowell,OH
Default Flight time on trex 450 L

What kind of flight time are u guys getting just got my kit yesterday and was looking what flight time to u to break in my batteies
Josh S is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:46 PM   #2
isogloss3d
Registered Users
 
Posts: 973
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rockford, IL
Default

Everyone has their preference for pack break in procedure. I fly my packs down to 3.8V per cell (resting voltage) a hand full of times. Try starting at 3 minutes and adjust accordingly.
__________________
- Eric
Compass Atom 6HV, KDE 600XF-530 motor, CC Ice2 HV 80, Torq Servos, BeastX
MSH Protos 500, Scorpion/YGE, Brain

GAUI X3 6S, 460MX, Castle ICE 50, MKS DS95, JR 3500G, BeastX, Belted Tail.
isogloss3d is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
michael88997
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lewisville, texas
Default

I have GA 1200 packs and in a 3 min flight I was using around 640mah from the packs and that was semi aggressive flying, tic tocs, big air stuff that sort of thing
michael88997 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #4
daybed07
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: vacaville california
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh S View Post
What kind of flight time are u guys getting just got my kit yesterday and was looking what flight time to u to break in my batteies
3:30 leaves me with 25% battery. And thats with pro class 3D (not to toot my own horn) LOL
daybed07 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 09:20 PM   #5
Josh S
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lowell,OH
Default Trex 450 L

Cool good to have a starting point on fly time
Josh S is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 06:04 AM   #6
Team-MAYHEM
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Default

4:00 here... Using 1300's at 85% throttle
__________________
Marshall Scalisi
Team-MAYHEM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:42 AM   #7
daybed07
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: vacaville california
Default Flight time on trex 450 L

Quote:
Originally Posted by daybed07 View Post
3:30 leaves me with 25% battery. And thats with pro class 3D (not to toot my own horn) LOL
Wondering if anyone has figured out how to get another minute or so of flight time with the 1300mah batts. I've calculated my head speed to be just above 3000 and as stated in my other post, I'm only getting 3:30 with 20-25% left. Flying with 85% flat TC. Doesn't seem like the head speed should drain the battery so fast but by the time I start having fun it's time to land.


Team turnigy
Team microheli
Team lynx
Team KBDD
Team CastleCreations
daybed07 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 08:59 AM   #8
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I am trying to have mine complete for this weekend. My target is 2700-2800 HS, hope to get 7min. Ill let you know how that works out. Flying style and collective management plays a LARGE role in how much flight time you get.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 09:41 AM   #9
SMOKEMASTER60
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,646
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
I am trying to have mine complete for this weekend. My target is 2700-2800 HS, hope to get 7min. Ill let you know how that works out. Flying style and collective management plays a LARGE role in how much flight time you get.
Good luck with that 7 min I got between 3.5 and 4 min at 85% just sport flying it for my first flights. I think once I start smacking it around it will be 3.5 min max, but a really fun 3.5 min
__________________
TREX 800 PRO DFC, Trex 700, Velocity 50, Fusion 50, Outrage 550, Align Trex 450L
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLADE 180 QX
Team iKon Rep // HALO BLADES
DX8 with Telemetry // Pheonix Simulator
SMOKEMASTER60 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:36 AM   #10
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I had a 6s 450 350mm machine about 4 years ago, i was able to get 6min back then.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:49 AM   #11
SMOKEMASTER60
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,646
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
I had a 6s 450 350mm machine about 4 years ago, i was able to get 6min back then.
Awesome, I would be interested in some help on how to get better flight times out of my 450L. I want it to be pretty fast and powerful still. Any tips
__________________
TREX 800 PRO DFC, Trex 700, Velocity 50, Fusion 50, Outrage 550, Align Trex 450L
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLADE 180 QX
Team iKon Rep // HALO BLADES
DX8 with Telemetry // Pheonix Simulator
SMOKEMASTER60 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:52 AM   #12
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I am having a killer week at work so I am struggling to finish this build. This machine is a hassle to wire to be honest, there is no space between where the wire exits the servo and the top bearing block , come on.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 11:12 AM   #13
michael88997
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lewisville, texas
Default

Quote:
I had a 6s 450 350mm machine about 4 years ago, i was able to get 6min back then
the problem with this machine is your limited to 1200-1300mah packs currently so unless you get a different pinion and slow it way down stock you don't get too much flight time


Quote:
This machine is a hassle to wire to be honest, there is no space between where the wire exits the servo and the top bearing block , come on.
there is very little space, the front left servo wire can be routed on top of the back servo and then go down next to the tt gears. the servo on the right can follow the frame down on the other side of the tt gears. just strap them all down so they don't get sucked in
michael88997 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:37 PM   #14
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Not my first rodeo
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:55 PM   #15
SMOKEMASTER60
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,646
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
I am having a killer week at work so I am struggling to finish this build. This machine is a hassle to wire to be honest, there is no space between where the wire exits the servo and the top bearing block , come on.
I found mine to wire up pretty nice if you put your unit on the top. I have a BUG mounted underneath.
__________________
TREX 800 PRO DFC, Trex 700, Velocity 50, Fusion 50, Outrage 550, Align Trex 450L
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLADE 180 QX
Team iKon Rep // HALO BLADES
DX8 with Telemetry // Pheonix Simulator
SMOKEMASTER60 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 01:07 PM   #16
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

My problem isn't with that, I am putting my BX up there too, my problem is with the cyclic wires being crushed by the upper bearing block.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 01:15 PM   #17
SMOKEMASTER60
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,646
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
My problem isn't with that, I am putting my BX up there too, my problem is with the cyclic wires being crushed by the upper bearing block.
Agreed, that worries me too. Hoping it doesn't rub a hole in one
__________________
TREX 800 PRO DFC, Trex 700, Velocity 50, Fusion 50, Outrage 550, Align Trex 450L
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BLADE 180 QX
Team iKon Rep // HALO BLADES
DX8 with Telemetry // Pheonix Simulator
SMOKEMASTER60 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 07:57 AM   #18
Team-MAYHEM
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Default

just dremel a little slot on the bottom of the bearing block if this isn't your first rodeo...problem solved

edit: that sounded a little brash...not attacking you, just my sense of humor
__________________
Marshall Scalisi
Team-MAYHEM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 09:32 AM   #19
Lompma
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Default

"the problem with this machine is your limited to 1200-1300mah packs currently so unless you get a different pinion and slow it way down stock you don't get too much flight time"

Could you redo the holes on the canopy for larger batts? I know it ruins the canopy but it sounds like this heli could be a battery killer. My 4S Mini Protos tortured my 4S batts to death running a 3800 HS with 353's.
__________________
Mini Protos 4S, Trex 150
Gaui X3, Blade 300X, Compass Atom 500, Protos 500
Synergy E7 TT, Logo 550SX, Goblin 570 12S
Lompma is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 09:55 AM   #20
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,619
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Why on earth would you run that much hs ??
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters > 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters


450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters 450 PRO Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com