Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk

Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default FB vs. FBL but not the usual debate....

Okay, it's no question that FBL is the way to go now. There are just more FBL than FB.

Question is why would anyone go FB?

For me, I'm no techie and could barely set up a FB machine so I'll stick to it and fly.

I'd like to know why others would stick to FB.

Again, this is not which is better. To each his own...
CAP21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2012, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

For one you can't compete in FC3 with a FBL heli.

And I think it's like a manual versus flappy paddle gearbox. Some people just don't like the feel, or don't want to give up control.

Formerly owned - Compass 7HV - Blade mCP X V2 - Blade 400 FBL BeastX
Mixmaster Pilot is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2012, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

FB usually cheaper. But that by no means its easier to setup. In fact, I'd say just the opposite. FB are harder to setup than FBL. FB you have to make sure the mixers are right, paddles level, Swash mixes, directions, End Points Etc Etc. Add a turn here, subtract a turn or two there. On and on till you get it right and even. FBL, Set the FBL unit to level swash setting, make servo to swash links for swash level, Then blades 0 Pitch. Tell FBL unit max Up and Down Collective, then max cyclic and BAM! Your done.
I can set up a BX unit in less than 10 min where FB was 30+ Min. And then the FB has that nasty roll tendency I hate.