Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > 120 SR

120 SR Blade (eFlite) 120 SR Helicopters Information and Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2016, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default 120S gyro problem?

Background: Have a couple wk old 120S. Using DX6i. First heli. Have had a couple minor crashes in the grass as expected. I can move around ok in beginner mode so I've switched to advanced mode and am hovering and starting to move around again. Warning: I am a power electronics engineer that does motor control and control systems. I might be my worst enemy

It has developed a worsening uncontrollable tail rotor. At first it would just twitch yaw one in a while (20-30deg, even in beginner mode.) As of a couple days ago I can't fly more than about a minute before it wildly spins to the ground while in a steady hover. Its rotating CCW so the tail rotor may have an intermittent open. But I have a few observations that make me think its a gyro problem and hoping to pick the collective brain trust here.

1) If hold the heli by the skids and bring the throttle up a little then rotate it slightly (yaw) the tail rotor will start to spin up as the gyro tries to correct. At that point if I hold it still, the tail motor sometimes briefly goes nuts - from full power to off - and then recovers and runs normally. It it was an intermittent open in the motor/wires/controller it would just go off and not full speed. It does both. Makes me think gyro.