Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 470 Class Electric Helicopters



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 07:06 PM   #21
dannym
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ontario, CA
Default

Here is how I have my Spektrum Sats installed on my 470, I am running a mini VBar. I do have other heli's with BeastX and a single Sat, on those I run the Sat on the top gyro tray like the one in the 470 photo. The only time I have had problems with a single Sat in that position was when I had a Sat go bad, which is why I run two on my 470.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0755.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	138.2 KB
ID:	686809   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0756.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	686810  
__________________
470LM HW Platinum Pro 60A, Brain
450L
HW Platinum Pro 50A, Mini VBar
dannym is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 09:56 PM   #22
oldben
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: California
Default

A lot of great input. Thanks all. dannym's photos are what I was thinking, but the Beast only allows one sat. I have a Spek. 9020 receiver I can mount which allows up to 3 sat's (a little overkill on the 470) but wiring to the beast is messy. Think I'll try the top spot first with just one sat and see how it goes. Thanks yakky for the recommendations on other sats - I'll check them out too.
oldben is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 12:05 PM   #23
Squier250
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Washington
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannym View Post
Here is how I have my Spektrum Sats installed on my 470, I am running a mini VBar. I do have other heli's with BeastX and a single Sat, on those I run the Sat on the top gyro tray like the one in the 470 photo. The only time I have had problems with a single Sat in that position was when I had a Sat go bad, which is why I run two on my 470.
Alright sounds good, I think I'll end up doing the same, is that heat shrink over the antennas?
Squier250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 12:32 PM   #24
Number
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri
Default

Always put heat shrink over the satellite antennas. The cases are brutal with no strain relief and the antennas break off very easily over time.
Number is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 470 Class Electric Helicopters


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.