Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Nitro Helicopters

700 Class Nitro Helicopters 700 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2016, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Nitro/Gas helis a thing of the past?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to CP helis but have always been in awe watching 3D events w tons of smoke being emitted by these machines!! Just bought an electric Blade nano Cps and 230 s to learn on. I watched Duncan Boisson this Summer and have been addicted ever since. If I'm able to advance what are the pros and cons to Nitro powered units? Do gas powered units still emit such large volumes of smoke? Any reason for all that smoke, too rich or too lean?

Thanks

Mitch
Mitch Booth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-23-2016, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

There are nitro and gas helis. Nitro has more power and is lighter than gas, but fuel is much more expensive and flight times are shorter than gas. Nitro is usually 6-8 minutes, gas is 8-20+ depending on model and setup. Electric has far more power but shorter flight times.

Nitros smoke a lot due to the oil content and fuel composition. Gassers have much less oil and smoke much less as a result. Nitro is usually 15-20% oil content, gas is closer to 3%.

IMO anyways nitro is more fun to fly, but it's definitely more work than electric and it'll be a hassle to get into if there's nobody nearby who knows how to set up and tune. It's possible for sure but you'll probably wind up blowing up an engine or two along the way.
Old 11-23-2016, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by smwht View Post