Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information

Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 09:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default E-Razor 450 setup - yaw is drifting with centered trims

This is my first time with RC heli's so please forgive me if I don't use the correct terminology.

I recently got an ARF E-Razor 450 and have been having a hard time keeping the yaw in control with centered trims. The copter came with a GY192 gyro and I am using a FrSky Taranis radio with a D8R-II 8-channel RX.

To setup the tail rotor I first bypassed the gyro and plugged the tail servo directly to the RX. I set subtrims to center and the servo horn to be 90 degrees with the tail and adjusted the linkage to set the tail rotor pitch to 0 degrees at this center point. I then plugged the gyro back in and mapped the gyro gain pin to a pot on my radio, which outputs from -100 to +100.

I tried hovering and the craft wanted to yaw left (CCW) pretty badly. As a test, I applied a little right trim on the yaw control and it stopped spinning on its own and seems to operate correctly. I turned the gain pot up until the tail began 'wagging' and then backed off a little, ending around -70.

I don't think this is correct behavior however, surely the gyro should be able to hold the tail in position without the extra trim? Any tips would be appreciated!
creyc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2014, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Not the best gyro, but we might be able to improve it some.