Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2)


DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2) DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2) Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 06:38 PM   #1
mmarian
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default dji FPV system

What is the camera plug supplied with it ?? Micro USB or HDMI?? How do I power the system from 4sLiPo?
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:14 PM   #2
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

Are you talking about the IOSD?
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:45 PM   #3
truraza
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Land of Entrapment...
Default

It's the DJI-5.8 video downlink.

Here's the manual for it.
Uses an 8 pin cable. For the IOSD it seems.
Works up to 6s,

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...13684058026807
truraza is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 08:28 PM   #4
mmarian
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Probably not a clear question to start with.... What I meant to ask was what sort of connector is there on the Rx cable to connect it to the GoPro camera. I am talking about the DJI AVL58 Tx/Rx. The manual does not say that. Is it HDMI or USB??? In regards to the power supply, the manual says that the Rx is powered directly from the balancing connector of 3s LiPo (11.1V). But I have 4s LiPo (14.8V), so what do I do?? Do I need a step-down voltage regulator or can I connect the Rx directly to 4s balancing plug ??
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:47 PM   #5
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmarian View Post
Probably not a clear question to start with.... What I meant to ask was what sort of connector is there on the Rx cable to connect it to the GoPro camera. I am talking about the DJI AVL58 Tx/Rx. The manual does not say that. Is it HDMI or USB??? In regards to the power supply, the manual says that the Rx is powered directly from the balancing connector of 3s LiPo (11.1V). But I have 4s LiPo (14.8V), so what do I do?? Do I need a step-down voltage regulator or can I connect the Rx directly to 4s balancing plug ??
The video transmitter hooks up to the camera, the receiver is on the ground station.

it comes with an 8-pin made up with an 1/8" headphone jack and deans plug, and a spare 8-pin that you make up with your choice of camera/power cable.

as for power, I haven't seen where it says to connect to the lipo balance plug. If those specs truraza posted are correct, then it can handle 3s (11v) up to 6s (22v) and you can connect straight to the lipo.

I couldn't find a manual for the AVL58. Got a link?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	134b54c6bf6e0b2e25cffc7011dc9d5f-500x500.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	419958  
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:25 PM   #6
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

found the manual. it's not on dji's site though.
the spare 8-pin comes with the iosd and not the avl58, sorry.
and here is a better pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AVL58_dji_multiWiicopter_8829__50312_1352095592_1280_1280.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	419962  
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:34 PM   #7
mmarian
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z_man_95 View Post
found the manual. it's not on dji's site though.
the spare 8-pin comes with the iosd and not the avl58, sorry.
and here is a better pic.
Thanks for your reply, I sincerely appreciate it. I mixed the Rx and Tx. I should have asked if the Tx is supplied with the USB or Micro HDMI cable to connect it with a camera. Usually the today's modern cameras have a micro HDMI video output. Is the AVL58 Tx supplied with a HDMI cable or not ??
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:45 PM   #8
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

no usb or hdmi, it comes with an 8-pin made up with an 1/8" headphone jack and deans plug
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:46 PM   #9
mmarian
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Thanks
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:56 PM   #10
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

no problem. Let us know if you need help with anything else.
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:35 AM   #11
mmarian
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z_man_95 View Post
no problem. Let us know if you need help with anything else.
Well, now I need to make my own cable with the Micro HDMI on one end (the camera) and the white 8 pin connector on the other for the Tx........ Any idea which pin number is the video signal and ground on the HDMI connector ???
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:48 PM   #12
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

Unfortunately it's not that easy. You will need an HDMI to AV converter. HDMI uses a different transmission protocol than AV (component).

Regardless, here are the pins:
http://pinouts.ru/Video/hdmi_pinout.shtml

And some info:
http://www.cableorganizer.com/articl...explained.html
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:13 PM   #13
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

Here is some more HDMI info:
http://www.avforums.com/forums/hdmi-...ust-facts.html

Is there a reason why you can't use the AV (tv/audio) port on the camera?
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:10 PM   #14
mmarian
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z_man_95 View Post
Here is some more HDMI info:
http://www.avforums.com/forums/hdmi-...ust-facts.html

Is there a reason why you can't use the AV (tv/audio) port on the camera?
You mean the 1/8" mic jack? Because there isn't one. I have to double check this camera (Sony RX100) but I think that the only direct live video feed output is via Micro HDMI...
mmarian is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:46 AM   #15
z_man_95
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,452
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmarian View Post
...what sort of connector is there on the Rx cable to connect it to the GoPro camera
That's why I asked.
The Sony RX100, now we're getting somewhere.
You only have HDMI for output. The USB is for file transfer with a pc. Your only options are to find/use an HDMI converter, mount a separate camera and aim it with the Sony, or use a camera with the AV output.
z_man_95 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:44 AM   #16
jim treg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 195
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Calabasas, Calif.
Default

As far as powering the tx with the battery balance connector just put a 4 cell connector on the wire using the outside holes you do not need a step down it uses up to 6s power.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1260.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	81.6 KB
ID:	422664  
jim treg is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2)


DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2) DJI Multirotor Fourm(A2/WKM/S1000/S800 EVO/S800/Phantom 2 Vision/Phantom 2/Naza-M V2) Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com