Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support

Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2014, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Newb: Need Advice on 1st Charger

Hello all:
I've been reading the forums for a few months now and learning so much every day, so thank you for all the information you share. I have been flying heli's for 5 months with absolutely no prior experience so this is a completely new world to me. I've progressed from a Blade MSRx to Nano CPx, and 130x, and just recently purchased a Trex 450SE V2. Using stock chargers have not been an issue with the Blade heli's, but now that I have the 450, I need purchase a charger.

I have been reading everything I could over the past few days and there is so much information and so many opinions on what works and why its better than others. I plan on using a charger mainly for 2s and 3s batteries up to 30C 2200mah. I am not planning on purchasing a bigger bird anytime and would like to try to get a decent setup for around $100 including a power supply.

Again, since I am so new to the hobby, I am just so unsure because there is an overwhelming amount of products and information and thought I would get your input. I am open to any and all suggestions, but this is what I have been looking at:

Chargers
Turnigy Accucel 8: http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

iCharger 106b: http://www.buddyrc.com/icharger-106b.html

Venom Pro 2 Charger: http://www.rcsuperstore.com/Venom-Pr...-p/ven0677.htm

Power Supplies: This is where I am unsure as to have AC or DC power capabilities and the advantages of one over the other besides being able to charge at the flying field. Is AC less powerful and will take longer?