Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Helicopters

Electric Helicopters Dedicated to larger than Micro/Mini Electric Helicopters of any Brand

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2015, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Brownout, rx reset or what?? Help

Dear friends,
among other helis i have a 550 gaui stretched, on 520mm blades.
I have recently rebuilt it with carbon frame , fbl head.
i am still a newbie slowly progressing to some mild 3d, and the problem i have with this chopper, and not with any other that i own is the following.

When i seem to stress the cyclic a little bit (flips, rolls, rainbows), the motor seems to cut off for a split sec, then spools up back to speed gradually, like from a soft start. I have control on cyclic and tail the whole time, and it doesnt sound like bogging. The same thing happens no matter what headspeed, lipo, gearing, esc setings, so i am convinced that this is not a matter of motor (sk3 1300kv 1500w) or soldering, since at high motor loads (sharp climbs) the motor is up to the challenge, no sweat.
Now i am sure the esc and bec i am using are not up to the task (turnigy 85amp with 5a sbec) but i cannot determine if this is a voltage drop related rx or kbar reset, brown out, loss of signal failsafe or what.
Unfortunately i am away from home and will be for the next month or so so i cannot remember exactly the servos that i have (futaba all around, but analog 7-8kg on cyclic, and futaba digital on tail.)
I run the heli on a 6s setup, 35c 3300mah, and mini yellow kbar.

Now i dont want to go out all the way and change everything on the heli, since i am not flying it at all and i am on the process of a new g700, i just want to figure out what is wrong and address it so that i can sport fly it with some very mild 3d in the mix.