Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters

450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Team Taco Member

My HF Map location
Thumbs down My first attempt at inverted hovering (Crash Report)

I have been working on inverted hovering in the simulator for several months. Tonight I attempted it for the first time with the real heli. I crashed.

I decided to make my attempt over a field of tall hay so that it might pad the helicopter if I was not able to control it. It turns out to have been a wise move.

The attached images tell the story:

1) The helicopter, in good working condition before the flight.
2) Taking off and cruising before the attempt
3) I flipped it inverted and brought it in closer.
4) It was snappy, I tried to escape. This is the heli going in.
5) The NTSB crash investigator gathering evidence at the scene.
6) The aftermath.

Total parts: Main blades, feathering shaft, tail fin mount, flybar, and a missing 1191 paddle. I was not able to find it in the hay.

I am most comfortable in nose-in inverted, but it seemed as though I was having a hard time controlling collective. I was running it up and down like a yo-yo. It may have been nerves causing me to over-react.

It got a little too close to the ground and pulled pitch to gain altitude, It seemed to climb too quickly, so I decided to bail to upright. When I pulled back, I did it too soon and did not have enough altitude. Darn.

Overall, it only took an hour to repair, so I am expecting to attempt again later in the week, probably Thursday. I'll let y'all know how it goes.

I have already ordered an replacement frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic 001.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	122.7 KB