Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 450

Blade 450 Blade 450 Helicopters Information and Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default How common are motor bearing failures?

I'm still learning on my two month old Blade 450 and spend most of my stick time doing figure eights in the front yard. Although I've had a few minor mishaps I've never had any major crashes and have only had to replace a few inexpensive parts. Recently I noticed an unusual humming noise coming from the heli and black dust on the main gear. I checked the gear lash and it seemed fine but then noticed the top of the motor appeared loose. I took out the motor last night and discovered that the bottom bearing is completely shot, so much so that I can move the pinion gear from side to side. I'm not sure what would have caused that. Does it have to be oiled regularly? I ordered some good replacement bearings last night (Boca SMR73C-YUU NB2) and they've already shipped so I shouldn't be out of commission for long. But I was wondering how common bearing failures are with these motors.
DJtoad is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

They are pretty common. The side to side play is most likely from the shaft being worn out sad to say.
Old 03-02-2012, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location

Is there an alternative?
Old 03-02-2012, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users