Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System

Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Anyone experienced with Ace gt5.1 setup?

Hi all -
I am newly registered on helifreak - have been flying when i have time for the last coupla years, and have gathered much helpful information here. I live close to the Canadian border in northern Minnesota, 2 hours from the nearest hobby shop, and 5 hours from the nearest city with any abundance of knowledgeable resources.
I have limited flybarless setup experience - i have setup align 3gx sufficiently for my flying skills (fff, circuits, etc). I acquired a gt5.1 gyro with the thunder tiger e325s kit, and flew it for a year on the factory settings. Now, i've swapped the unit onto a trex 550 v2. I have read about everything i can find online, and have got it seemingly dialed in enough for some test hovers. I have come to understand some of the programming, but could really use a talk with someone who really knows these things to help me demystify further. Mainly: swashplate leveling, servo travel/limits, P/I setup, and what i should be looking for as to flight characteristics. As you may know, the literature provided with much of the equipment in this hobby leaves a lot to be desired! I am eager to get more flying time in and have my skills progress, but get stalled out by head-scratching (and 20 below weather). Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

If it matters:
- Trex 550e v2, align servos, all stock except for Talon 90
- Ace gt5.1 with spektrum satellites. Servo speeds and frequencies set. Horns at 90. 0 degrees pitch at center stick. Tail servo travel o.k.. Cyclic servos seem much faster on collective inputs than on cyclic (?)
- Dx8, single servo, everything zeroed