Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 02:40 PM   #21
Blayd
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Been there, done that.....I also emailed them, but I almost never get a response.
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 03:00 PM   #22
itbvolks
Registered Users
 
Posts: 484
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Default

Same - plus a call.


Hoping it gets sorted. Otherwise, running fine. More a nuisance than a real problem....
itbvolks is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 06:52 PM   #23
Blayd
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Yeah, true.... they are stuttering.. but do start, and run great... Just not completely sure of the consequences of the constant stuttering start on the motor or the ESC...
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:20 PM   #24
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Well, to the original question, is it save to upgrade to v4.01?

I have a T-rex 600EFL Pro; all stock.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:15 PM   #25
Blayd
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Seems like the 600's are doing well on 4.01.. I just went back to 3.27 on two of my ICE 100's running the Scorp 1900kv motors..( bad stuttering ) the ICE 100A I use with a 1400kv Scorp is running great on 4.01.
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 01:32 PM   #26
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Hi,

I tested v4.01 today in my 600EFL Pro. It worked fine. I did follow the recommendation of using a higher value for the Initial Spool Up Rate from the recommended value of 59 to 65. It's worked fine and I believe I can set it to 59.

I had to reduce the governor gain from the recommended value of 15 to 14 because I could hear some noise in the gears.

One thing that surprised me is I set IDLE 1 to 2246 and IDLE 2 to 2358, and the system was able to maintain 2358 fairly well, even with the small head room it has using that headspeed. I checked the log and the power output wasn't clipped much, just in some occasions.

I'll keep flying the heli and if I find something else, I'll post the findings.

Thanks.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7

Last edited by davehour; 08-13-2012 at 08:39 AM..
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:06 PM   #27
Emurzion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 344
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

@Davehour are you running the stick 600MX motor with the 600EFL.

Let us know if the default start power works for you.

I'm really getting close to update my esc. I'm getting slight noise from my motor also at 15, but I'm also using 3.27 firmware.
Emurzion is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:00 AM   #28
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emurzion View Post
@Davehour are you running the stick 600MX motor with the 600EFL.

Let us know if the default start power works for you.

I'm really getting close to update my esc. I'm getting slight noise from my motor also at 15, but I'm also using 3.27 firmware.
Yes, the 600EFL is all stock.

I'm using the Gens Ace 3300 6S 25c packs.

Governor headspeeds: 1903, 2246 & 2358.

Following are two graphs of one of the flights: The first one is a graph of the voltage, current and ripple voltage. The second one is a graph of headspeed, power output & temperature. I've also included a picture of the ESC settings.







David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL Stock v4.01 Gov Graph 1.jpg
Views:	581
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	340122   Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL Stock v4.01 Gov Graph 2.jpg
Views:	573
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	340123   Click image for larger version

Name:	600EFL v4.01 Settings.png
Views:	601
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	340124  
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7

Last edited by davehour; 08-14-2012 at 12:03 PM..
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 01:42 AM   #29
Emurzion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 344
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

Will our motor start up with the default value of 59?
Emurzion is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:07 AM   #30
davehour
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Guayama, Puerto Rico 00785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emurzion View Post
Will our motor start up with the default value of 59?
I bench tested at 59 and seems to work ok. I'll test flight it on this week and will report how it did.

David
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC, Spirit FBL Unit, Futaba R6303SB/8FGHS
Blade mCPx 140mm boom, DX7
RealFlight 7
davehour is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:56 PM   #31
Emurzion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 344
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Default

I updated and used all the values on the castle site except for my gain at 14 and rpm running at 2100, 2200, and 2300.

Im only losing about 300 rpm on hard transitional movements.

I love it!!! Thanks for all the help.
Emurzion is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Castle Creations ESC and Software


Castle Creations ESC and Software Castle Creations ESC Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com