Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information


Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2014, 09:00 AM   #41
HeliBaby1527
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Thumbs up Thank You for the Incredible Help!

Dear ArchmageAU,

Your Extensive "step-by-step" instructions, guides and explanations are invaluable! I am new to RC Helis and I feel that no beginner should miss your post!

I knew that if I searched long enough somebody would have taken the time and trouble to write down the "basics" for newbies! I watched countless YouTube videos which were a big help, but there's nothing like reading it in "Black & White". I totally agree that the manual for the DX6i might as well been written in Sanskrit, if you're a beginner to RC!

Thank you, again for an awesome job! I look forward to your future threads!
HeliBaby1527
HeliBaby1527 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 06:49 PM   #42
Braddock54
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North of 60
Default Newbies guide to the DX6i for RC helicopters

Great info, thanks for taking the time to do that !
Braddock54 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:02 AM   #43
HeliBaby1527
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Thumbs up What a Great Wealth of RC Heli Information!

Thank you so much for your incredibly thorough and painstaking work! What a wealth of detailed information to help new DX6i owners, of which I am one!

I printed out this post as well as your "From tail-in to all 8s and funnels in six months" and "Phoenix setup for the DX6i", as I had recently purchased a simulator (Version 5) as you had recommended!

I then created a notebook of RC helicopter tips and "how-tos", so I could highlight the important data and also be able to take it with me as needed.

I am really looking forward to your future posts!

All the best,

HeliBaby1527
HeliBaby1527 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:37 AM   #44
Unfed Rcfou
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cali
Default

Nice work man it really helped me understand better. Specially since I'm new to the flying world
Unfed Rcfou is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 11:43 PM   #45
watho 46
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chittaway Point AUS
Default

Hi archmage
Great post it only took me 9 months to read it but WOW now my understands of the DX6 I is so much better and the setup for the sim is invaluable
I have 2 silly questions
1) when they setup gov mod wouldn't you just be able to work out your rpm and then set that as a percentage ( 80% 1900 rpm 90%-2000rpm etc) ????
2) I have setup dr and expo and set to Rudd switch and I have set stunt mode but how do I activate the stunt mode , sorry read through it a couple of times but cann't get my head around that one
Thanks again for all your input it certainly is a great read
Watho
__________________
Master CP devo 7E Walkera 450 DO3 Blade 4503D conv to FBL Spectrum DX6i Building 550x
and a phoenix sim
fly,crash,order parts,repair and repeat
watho 46 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 12:41 AM   #46
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,343
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by watho 46 View Post
Hi archmage
Great post it only took me 9 months to read it but WOW now my understands of the DX6 I is so much better and the setup for the sim is invaluable
I have 2 silly questions
1) when they setup gov mod wouldn't you just be able to work out your rpm and then set that as a percentage ( 80% 1900 rpm 90%-2000rpm etc) ????
2) I have setup dr and expo and set to Rudd switch and I have set stunt mode but how do I activate the stunt mode , sorry read through it a couple of times but cann't get my head around that one
Thanks again for all your input it certainly is a great read
Watho
1) Depends on how your gov in implemented. Gaui gov is throttle % = RPM, Castle gov has 3 set ranges that you nominate the RPM for in the ESC (40%, 70%, 100%). Best rule of thumb is work out the max RPM for your motor on 3.7V per cell and set max governed speed to be 95% of this value (so you have head room to make up differences and allow for inefficiencies).

2) If you want a set DR/expo per flight mode, make D/R&COMBI (SETUP LIST 7) setting of D/R SW: FM (the Flight Mode switch).

(Cannot test this as have sold my DX6i now. Still pretty sure this correct from the manual pages).

Glad to help others.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 08:13 PM   #47
watho 46
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chittaway Point AUS
Default

Hi archmage
Got it, finally found the Fmode switch
I mst say flying in stunt mode will take a bit of getting use to
Thanks again for your help it has been absolutely AWESOME to get my head a little more around the tx
Cheers watho
__________________
Master CP devo 7E Walkera 450 DO3 Blade 4503D conv to FBL Spectrum DX6i Building 550x
and a phoenix sim
fly,crash,order parts,repair and repeat
watho 46 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 02:16 AM   #48
wynnie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: California
Thumbs up Great info

Thank you ! As a newbie to RC helis and computerized transmitters, this post really helped clear things up.
wynnie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:45 AM   #49
nighttrain06
Registered Users
 
Posts: 886
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arlington, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
1) Depends on how your gov in implemented. Gaui gov is throttle % = RPM, Castle gov has 3 set ranges that you nominate the RPM for in the ESC (40%, 70%, 100%). Best rule of thumb is work out the max RPM for your motor on 3.7V per cell and set max governed speed to be 95% of this value (so you have head room to make up differences and allow for inefficiencies).

2) If you want a set DR/expo per flight mode, make D/R&COMBI (SETUP LIST 7) setting of D/R SW: FM (the Flight Mode switch).

(Cannot test this as have sold my DX6i now. Still pretty sure this correct from the manual pages).

Glad to help others.
HI Archmage! I just finished building an Align 500DFC Pro with the Ar7200bx, I have a Castle 75a esc...all I have done so far is test hovers with it, my DR/COMBI is set at INH right now....how would I set this DX6i up now that I am up and running with it? Is idol 1 automatic for the higher setting or do I need to go in and enable it to FM and adjust my settings that way with DR/Expo....haven't even tried flicking the switch for idol 1 because I am not sure how the thing will react...LOL
As always your a great help on here to everyone!
Rodney
__________________
Blade: Nano QX, SR, 230s, 400 3D
Walkera: V120D02s
Align: 450L Dominator, 450 Pro DFC,
500 Pro DFC
nighttrain06 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:06 AM   #50
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,343
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nighttrain06 View Post
HI Archmage! I just finished building an Align 500DFC Pro with the Ar7200bx, I have a Castle 75a esc...all I have done so far is test hovers with it, my DR/COMBI is set at INH right now....how would I set this DX6i up now that I am up and running with it? Is idol 1 automatic for the higher setting or do I need to go in and enable it to FM and adjust my settings that way with DR/Expo....haven't even tried flicking the switch for idol 1 because I am not sure how the thing will react...LOL
As always your a great help on here to everyone!
Rodney
DR/COMBI is to combine DR/expo switching onto a single switch. If you add it to f.mode, then your DR&EXPO for Ail, Ele and Rud will switch between two possible values based on flight mode.

You can test this with the 500 turned off. Check the monitor page to watch what the channel are doing. In fact, when programming, you should see in DR&EXPO that changing f.mode switch will change between different values for DR&EXPO.

Best of luck, post or PM me if having further problems. Please also post successful results.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:53 AM   #51
nighttrain06
Registered Users
 
Posts: 886
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arlington, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchmageAU View Post
DR/COMBI is to combine DR/expo switching onto a single switch. If you add it to f.mode, then your DR&EXPO for Ail, Ele and Rud will switch between two possible values based on flight mode.

You can test this with the 500 turned off. Check the monitor page to watch what the channel are doing. In fact, when programming, you should see in DR&EXPO that changing f.mode switch will change between different values for DR&EXPO.

Best of luck, post or PM me if having further problems. Please also post successful results.
Ok I'll fiddle with it....as always thank you!
Rodney
__________________
Blade: Nano QX, SR, 230s, 400 3D
Walkera: V120D02s
Align: 450L Dominator, 450 Pro DFC,
500 Pro DFC
nighttrain06 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 11:18 AM   #52
hammer0419
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: OC NY
Default

I just ordered a Phoenix Sim with the DX6i. I have a ton of learning to do here.
hammer0419 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 08:33 PM   #53
Mooncatt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 393
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Default

So. Much. Info.

I bypassed the 6i and got a DX8 that just came in the mail today. Can't wait to try it on my mSR, which I've heard can be really dialed in with a programmable radio. I do have a 300X on its way too and had a question.

From reading this, it sounds like you can use idle up almost like a governor of sorts. Am I correct on this? It'll be my first CP bird, and would probably want to try running a lower head speed along with DR and expo to help tame it while I'm learning. Would there be a more preferred way? The 300X would have a YEP ESC that I believe has a governor, but just learning the tx is enough to soak in for now.
Mooncatt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 01:02 AM   #54
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,343
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooncatt View Post
So. Much. Info.

I bypassed the 6i and got a DX8 that just came in the mail today. Can't wait to try it on my mSR, which I've heard can be really dialed in with a programmable radio. I do have a 300X on its way too and had a question.

From reading this, it sounds like you can use idle up almost like a governor of sorts. Am I correct on this? It'll be my first CP bird, and would probably want to try running a lower head speed along with DR and expo to help tame it while I'm learning. Would there be a more preferred way? The 300X would have a YEP ESC that I believe has a governor, but just learning the tx is enough to soak in for now.
Yep, Idle up is like a governor (constant power except when throttle hold engaged).

Not sure if the YEP is a true governor (tries to maintain motor speed instead of just relative voltage). I run flat throttle curves (IU curves) on all my CP helis even if they do not have a governor.

For first CP bird, you denintely want to lower DR and run lower head speed. These thing can get away from you quick. One point though, if 300 CFX or 360 CFX, 450X or any other driven tail helis (where tail speed is dependent on main rotor speed), you need enough head speed for the tail to work to help maintain direction.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:50 AM   #55
Mooncatt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 393
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Good, some of this is soaking in because that's what I was thinking, both about taming and not going too far with a lower speed. One more clarification request. On the mix notes for the mSR/mSRX setup, you mentioned using the rudder momentarily and adjusting until the heli doesn't travel as a way to test. By "doesn't travel," you're referring to movement along the X/Y axis and not yawing, right?
Mooncatt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:59 AM   #56
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,343
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooncatt View Post
... On the mix notes for the mSR/mSRX setup, you mentioned using the rudder momentarily and adjusting until the heli doesn't travel as a way to test. By "doesn't travel," you're referring to movement along the X/Y axis and not yawing, right?
Yes. The adjustments are to prevent "translational" (X,Y) movement while yaw (rotation) is occurring.

These adjustments are personal preference. You can always just learn to fly with it (manually adjust).
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 11:19 AM   #57
Mooncatt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 393
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Mooncatt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:39 AM   #58
Onasis
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Canada scarborough Ontario m1p4k1
Default Need help

Hey bro .. I need ur help ... I bought blade 120 sr . I don't how to setup the d\expo and the pitch curve and throttle curve Plz help me with this setup for beginners .. Thanks
Onasis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 03:29 AM   #59
ArchmageAU
HF Support
 
Posts: 6,343
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia, Vic, Melbourne East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onasis View Post
Hey bro .. I need ur help ... I bought blade 120 sr . I don't how to setup the d\expo and the pitch curve and throttle curve Plz help me with this setup for beginners .. Thanks
Follow the guide (post 1)

120SR does not need a pitch curve (fixed pitch heli). Throttle curve of 0, 25, 50, 75, 100 on both Norm and Stunt.

Could also use Acro mode, but please do not. You want to learn throttle hold.
__________________
TRex 700E Pro DFC HV (BD3SX) - Gaui X5 (6S/BD3SX), Blade 130X, RealFlight, Heli-X, Taranis+DSMX
ArchmageAU is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 12:15 AM   #60
codyw20
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Default

Would anyone here know way my elevator control will not hardly move? When I watch the monitor my elevator control barely moves the arrow at all. It does move it some but just barely. The arrow starts at about 30% and then if I move it all the way up to goes 33%. Moving the stick all the way down only moves the arrow barley. Maybe only like 2 %.

Andy ides? Do I need to take it in for service?
codyw20 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information


Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.