Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods


600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods Align T-REX 600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
erospawn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina
Default 700 class 530KV motor in a 600 EFL Pro

Hey guys,

Trying to figure out if a 530KV motor will fit in my 600 EFL Pro..Had a little motor blow out and want a suitable substitute over the Christmas holidays until I can find a 510 Kv to put it in it. I know KDE makes a kit for this mod..I have the adjustable motor mount and the upgraded KDE gear so I think the 530 should fit...But just wondering that if I should get it to fit were there any other gotchas I should be aware of? Thanks for the help.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TRex 450L, TRex 500 EFL, TRex 600 EFL, Synergy E7/SE, AS350, Bell 222, Bell 206, Jayhawk, Tiger EC-665, Vbar, Beastx
erospawn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 09:37 PM   #2
sean1098
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ireland
Default

Align do an upgrade kit, cause I got one today , it's 49 euro . It comes with all you need .
__________________
700 pro hv, dominator, (v bar)...G4 nitro hv, v bar, 600 pro, 500 dfc, , 2x 130 , mcpx bl.
sean1098 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 11:24 PM   #3
Funky
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,620
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Westerville, OH - USA
Default

The Align upgrade will allow many large motor options without the need for shimming servos or other tricks to keep the motor from rubbing the front servos. If you do not plan on using the upgrade kit, some of the larger motors can become an issue. I ran a Scorpion 4035-500 and Quantum 4135-530 in my EFL. Both of them rubbed during hard flying. I had to shim one side of the servos quite a bit to angle them enough to prevent the motor from rubbing in flight. I haven't personally tried the Align upgrade kit, but I have heard it solves this issue when flying big motors in the EFL.
__________________
More helis than brains
Funky is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 03:54 PM   #4
WV_Medic
Registered Users
 
Posts: 111
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West Virginia
Default

What size motor is good for a 600 PRO DFC? Sorry to hijack the thread but I don't want to start a new one and still have trouble finding a current thread on this. I am flip flopping with a 550E or 600E. I still want to be able to do autos which is why I am heavily considering 600 PRO DFC. I am a custom builder and am looking for a scorpion motor and Castle ESC combo. Any suggestions? I don't need it to run like a raped ape but good power similar if not better than align is plenty.
__________________
Air goes in and out, Blood goes round and around. Any deviation of the two requires EMS.
WV_Medic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 08:33 AM   #5
curmudgeon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,427
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montgomery County, Maryland
Default

I believe the KDE 600XF-530 motor was the first after market motor of appropriate size to be a direct replacement for the Align motor on this bird. However, due to the higher torque, some folks recommend bracing the front cyclic servos to prevent the motor can from contacting the servos. There are currently more motor choices.
__________________
Synergy 806 & E5/Logo 700 & 550SX V2/Goblin 700 KSE, G380 KSE, G380; Kontronik ESCs; Spirit Pros; MKS/Futaba/XPERT/BK servos; KDE/Xnova/Kontronik/Scorpion motors
Sims on Mac:
neXt/RF7.5/Phoenix 5/RC7
Jeti DS-16C
& DX8 Gen 2, Citizen 259
curmudgeon is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:37 PM   #6
WV_Medic
Registered Users
 
Posts: 111
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West Virginia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curmudgeon View Post
I believe the KDE 600XF-530 motor was the first after market motor of appropriate size to be a direct replacement for the Align motor on this bird. However, due to the higher torque, some folks recommend bracing the front cyclic servos to prevent the motor can from contacting the servos. There are currently more motor choices.
If I were to go with lets say a Scorpion HK-4035-560. Would I need a special mounting plate or something?
__________________
Air goes in and out, Blood goes round and around. Any deviation of the two requires EMS.
WV_Medic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 01:03 PM   #7
Grumpy_Old_Man
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Default

I put a HKIII-4035-530kv in my 600pro. I used the performance booster kit to create the required clearance between motor and servos, You may be able to squeeze it in by shimming the servos but i couldn't say for sure.

I had to slot two of the holes in the mount plate to suit the Scorpion bolt pattern, luckily i know a friendly machine shop.

here it is:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG1066.jpg
Views:	477
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	486526  
__________________
Gob 700 Speed | Gob 770 Carb. Comp | Gob 630 Comp | Trex 700X | KDS Agile 7.2 | Compass 7HV U | Trex 600Pro (626 stretch) | Kasama Dune 600 | KDS Chase 360 | Blade 180CFX
Grumpy_Old_Man is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 02:45 PM   #8
WV_Medic
Registered Users
 
Posts: 111
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West Virginia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy_Old_Man View Post
I put a HKIII-4035-530kv in my 600pro. I used the performance booster kit to create the required clearance between motor and servos, You may be able to squeeze it in by shimming the servos but i couldn't say for sure.

I had to slot two of the holes in the mount plate to suit the Scorpion bolt pattern, luckily i know a friendly machine shop.

here it is:
Thanks the for the picture bud! Thats a nice set up there. What gears are you running and Whats the power like? What kinda flight times are you seeing with head speeds? Shortly before I got out of the heli scene the last time I was just learning electrics. I was a nitro guy myself. Eventually I got tired of lugging nitro supplies to and from the field. Plus it sucks spilling it in the car.
__________________
Air goes in and out, Blood goes round and around. Any deviation of the two requires EMS.
WV_Medic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:39 PM   #9
Grumpy_Old_Man
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Default

Thanks!

It's the standard 'performance booster kit' gearing, so 118 main gear and 14t pinion.

I'm a relative nubie on helis, my flying is limited to loops and rolls, but on 2000RPM head speed I'm getting 7 minutes easy. I've got max head speed set at 2200 but it would run higher if I wanted.
__________________
Gob 700 Speed | Gob 770 Carb. Comp | Gob 630 Comp | Trex 700X | KDS Agile 7.2 | Compass 7HV U | Trex 600Pro (626 stretch) | Kasama Dune 600 | KDS Chase 360 | Blade 180CFX
Grumpy_Old_Man is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 11:12 AM   #10
ticedoff8
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,039
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCali (San Jose)
Default

I am not familiar with the "Booster kit"
I have the KDE Direct adjustble motor mount and the red frame braces.
Is the "last step" the 118t main & 14t pinion? That would add some space between the servos and the motor can and make a minor change to the gear ratio (from 8.61:1 to 8.42:1)
ticedoff8 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 09:57 PM   #11
Luvmyhelis
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,063
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: spokane,washington
Default

I have run everything from what I consider a wimpy older Align 750MX up to the KDS 495kv older version, and the newer gen Kds 505kv, then the Scorp 4035-630. And am now running the Scorp 4025-520 Ultimate Mikado version on mine. Which is what is staying in there.
__________________
Roughly 400 helis built over the years. Nuff said.
Luvmyhelis is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 02:41 PM   #12
apper001
Registered Users
 
Posts: 915
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Switzerland
Default

Gonna put a rewound 1.5mm wire with 505KV in my Pro.

No idea what i can do with my 600MX though..? Rewind to maybe 6S, combi wind so i can fly 6/12S?
apper001 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters > 600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods


600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods Align T-REX 600/600 PRO Aftermarket Upgrades and Mods Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2016 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.