Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters

Walkera Helicopters Walkera Helicopter Support

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2013, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Can't connect Devo 10 to computer to update...

...figured if anyone might know what's going on, it'd be someone here.

I have a Devo 10 (bought second-hand from a fellow 'Freaker). It is perfectly functional, as far as I can tell.

I am a veteran R.C. guy, in many respects (although new to Devo transmitters). I'm also reasonably handy with a computer. But this has me stumped (and that usually means I've missed Something Really Obvious):

When I turn on the Devo 10 while holding the 'EXT' key, it goes into 'Program Update' mode, as has been described in the Deviation manual.

I have downloaded, installed and run the Devention Dfuse USB Upgrade Tools V1.7.

I plug the USB cable into the computer and... nothing (yes, the other end is plugged into the transmitter). Nothing happens. The software/computer doesn't recognise the transmitter.

All switchgear on the transmitter is in the '0' position. Throttle stick is down. The transmitter is in what I assume is the correct mode.

And on the computer, the software appears to be running normally.

I'm lost.

I've tried different starting sequences: Run software, turn on transmitter in 'Program Update' mode, plug in... plug in, run software, turn on transmitter in 'Program Update' mode... run software, plug in, turn on transmitter...

Nada.

I tried two different USB cables.

Nada.

I went back to V1.5 of the software.

Nada.

Do the Devo transmitters use a proprietary USB cable? I've run across odd stuff like that before, although I didn't think it was the case here (I don't have the original cable that came with the transmitter, just a generic one).

I guess the last port of call is to crack it open and check the plug.