Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Antique Out of Production and Vintage Helicopters > E-Sky Helicopters > HBFP V1/V2

HBFP V1/V2 E-Sky Honey Bee V1 & V2 Fixed Pitch

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default Lubrication on a heli; what, why and how?

In the vein of helpful posts, I thought I'd post this one. Its about the only area I know anything about (and some may say I don't know much about this either), as it's what I do for a living. Hope it helps.

When it comes to lubricating your pride and joy, there are many ideas and thoughts on the subject, some right, some wrong…but mostly partly right. What I aim to do here is give some of the basic info on what you need to do, what you shouldn’t do and bit of the reasoning behind it, so you can make an informed decision.

A Bit...Well, A Lot Of Background
There are three principle forms of lubricating anything: oil, grease and solid lubricants. These are all often available to us, the end user, in the form of a combination of the above. If you don't want to know about this, skip straight on to What To Use And Where

Oil is essentially a liquid, refined from crude oil (usually – although there are other oils, such as vegetable oils etc. For this purpose, we are talking about engineering grade oils refined from stuff found under the ground / sea). Silicone oil can be used too, but in the scheme of things it is not a great lubricant and is normally used where you are looking at wide extremes of temperature, as silicone is very stable across a broad temperature range. It is widely used in the automotive industry (inside brake and clutch cables for example), where they want a standard car that can be used in the Arctic or the Sahara. All that said, silicone oil can be useful on R/C helicopters; I’ll come on to that later.