Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Newbies: Tips and Information

Newbies: Tips and Information Section of HF, specifically for Passing along info to newcomers to the hobby. Setup, tweaking, orientation practice, etc.

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2015, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Top 10 things I learned [the hard way] flying CP helis..

I am not a pro or an expert, but I’ve been flying for about 18 months and have hit the hobby really hard. I consider myself an advanced-intermediate pilot. I have the basics nailed: all orientation hovers/circles/funnels, all orientation figure 8s (upright/inverted, backwards/forwards), all directions and orientations of loops, and I can do some good advanced maneuvers like piro flps, and 4 point tic-tocs. Along the way, I have learned a bunch of lessons, mostly the hard way, so I thought it might be fun to put together a top 10 list of things that I learned in the hobby so far, in the hopes that some of my lessons learned could be helpful to someone new.
Again, most of these I learned the hard way, by making mistakes, but as they say good judgement comes from experience and experience comes from bad judgement…

Top 10 things I learned [the hard way] flying CP helis..

1. Flying collective pitch helicopters is hard
I really don’t think there are two ways about it. This is a hard hobby. It is like trying to play golf with one ball swinging left handed. Even to just consistently be able to take off, hover and land (gently on the skids) takes 20-40 hours of practice, not to mention learning how to do really basic stuff like going around in a circle, both ways, then inverted, then backwards. There are some really steep learning curves along the way, and almost everyone I know (including myself) ‘almost quit’ at some point. But I am glad I stuck through it because…