Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
nicolas_rodriguez
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default 3GX Governor sensor

I got my 3GX unit for my 600 nitro a few days ago; very easy to install and flew very well right out of the box..... way easier than the Total G that I had before....

However, I'm having trouble setting up my governor.... the RPM are all over the place.. I think the problem is with the sensor, because when I bench-test it rotating the engine with the starter, all the servos move every time the sensor passes through the magnet. Is this normal? Can anyone with a similar setup confirm it?

Thanks!
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:10 PM   #2
flyingbells
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Nope, your servos are not meant to move. What transmitter are you using? may be you have mixing enabled with the channel you are using for governor?
flyingbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:17 PM   #3
nicolas_rodriguez
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I'm using a DX7, I think I'm not using any mixing but would have to check tonight. So you think it might be my sensor?
Thanks!
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 08:41 AM   #4
nicolas_rodriguez
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I just checked and don't have any mixin enabled. So it has to be the sensor. What is it supposed to happen when the magnet passes under the sensor? Does the governor led in the unit blinks or changes color?
I have a sensor from my Total G unit, was thinking on using it to test, but that one has a servo connector.... Anyone knows how would I have to wire it to the align plug?
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
flyingbells
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Well its just a Hall sensor so a bit hard to imagine it causing problems for other servos. By all means try a new sensor, I think the Align one is only $10 or less. A Curtis ATG sensor also will work if you solder the Align connector and reverse black and red wire.

More likely seems to be a bad connector or chaffed wire somewhere? I use Futaba S-bus on my 3GX, didn't have any issue. Also upgrade your firmware to 1.1 as it fixes a lot of governor related issues.
flyingbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com