Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk

Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2015, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default Discharging through a high power resistor.

I have limited knowledge on this and I have been looking around many forums, my mind is still not clear! Any links to additional information would be great as I am always willing to learn!

I have the ICHARGER 4010 capable for 1600 watt external discharge. I have 3S and 6S Lipos that I would like to discharge.

Would the resistor below be efficient and safe to use when switching between discharging 3S and 6S or would I need a resistor of unknown value for my 3S and another resistor of unknown value for my 6S Lipos.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...574-ND/2367679

I understand that 1 ohm is the most efficient for the ICHARGER 4010, as this charger is 40 amps discharge at 40V

Could anyone recommend a resistor that would safely enable me to get the max 1600watt discharge from the ICHARGER 4010.

People are using converted hairdryers as a resistive load, but this is too noisy for me!

Kindest regards

NHENRY
Advertisement

Old 05-23-2015, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

That would work fine. i'm using a hairdryer but in effect it's just a 1 Ohm resistor. If you are using the discharge method where you plug your load resistor into one of the channel outputs in the front, and discharge the batteries from the other channel, then 1000W is all you can do. I find 1000W is plenty even when discharging several 6s 5000mAh batteries.

You can only hit 1600W if discharging from both channels into a load connected to the input side of the charger.