Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Walkera Helicopters > Genius CP

Genius CP Walkera Genius CP Helicopter Support

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Lightbulb Genius CP Upgrades?

Hey everybody!

Got a Genius CP coming in tomorrow as my second bird for indoor flying since most days it's just too damn windy to fly outside in Colorado. It sounds like the perfect little heli, but I know there's always room for improvement.

Since this little guy has been out for some time, I'm wondering what things people wish they would've done first-flight to this bird? I am a fairly good pilot, but not so great on the technical front, so as much detail as possible would be fantastic. I'm looking to advance my (beginner) 3D flight, if that helps at all.

Thanks, in advance and happy flying!

Sean
What Now?!?
sbillingham is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-27-2012, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

Sean you will enjoy the Genius and I bought mine for similar reasons (rainy windy winters) There are a number of mods people will recommend, all of them helpful. Try this web site which I have found to be invaluable.

http://benmlee.com/Genius.htm

The landing gear mod is not too hard (comes with full plans and instructions) and not expensive either. I did this before I even connected the first battery and I am still using the original frame.

If you are doing 3D in the lounge I suggest the servo saver mod too again before you try any flips rolls or inverted moves.

While I haven't swapped out the stock motor for brushless yet, you may want to read the posts in here before you do anything. This can also be done later

I found Tom's TX settings a great starting point to tweak to my personal preferences too. https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=400204