Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
Joectls
Registered Users
 
Posts: 399
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jacksonville
Default Phoenix on a MacBook pro

Guys I am waiting on my MacBook pro . Can I run Phoenix simulator on Mac? If yes to install will be the same as a PC?
__________________
[SAB Goblin 700] Scorpion4525-520LE Helijive 120 VBar JR8917HV / 8900JR
Best place to buy : rcgalore.net
"No Crash , No Gain"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Joectls is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:10 PM   #2
neverland
Registered Users
 
Posts: 734
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: uk, warwickshire
Default

you should be fine graphics wise as i run it on a late 2007 macbook, not a mb pro.

i have to turn settings to low, but dont worry it doesnt hurt the quality and it looks fantastic. v3.0s is ok anyway. ive tried v4 beta but its too jittery to use atm but you might be ok with a mbp with its better graphics (jealous )

i run it on bootcamp, in window xp. no problems apart from the usual windows crashes from time to time.

just boot in windows and install from that. if you plan to use xp like me, you need at least an sp2 disk for bootcamp. you cant use a lower version and update to sp2
neverland is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,698
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

If it's a new model MacBook Pro, you'll have to get Win7 instead of WinXP because the OS X Lion version of Boot Camp doesn't support installing XP.

As for whether it will be the same as a PC laptop, probably not...it will likely be better. It has been said many times that Macs are some of the best Windows machines.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
Joectls
Registered Users
 
Posts: 399
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jacksonville
Default

Yes, I have also Window 7, But I don't trust window
__________________
[SAB Goblin 700] Scorpion4525-520LE Helijive 120 VBar JR8917HV / 8900JR
Best place to buy : rcgalore.net
"No Crash , No Gain"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Joectls is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,698
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

With any luck, the SimulationX software coming late this year or next year will be awesome enough and inexpensive enough to supplant Phoenix for us Mac users. It will be OS X native.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:37 PM   #6
edhall
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Valparaiso, IN, Tampa FL
Default

I use a Late 2010 Mac Book pro, with Win 7 Boot Camp, Phoenix runs just fine.
__________________
New Toys, Logo 600SE, Futaba 18MZ
Align 450 Pro V2, Mini-v
Pantera 55, Pantera XE Elec
Trex 600 ESP, Gaui 425
edhall is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:04 PM   #7
Gladiator
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,445
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, FL
Default

I am running version 4 on my iMAC via parallels. I'm happy with it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Goblin 700, T-Rex 700N, T-Rex 450
iKon, because I am connected to my heli, are you?
Gladiator is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com