Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios

2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default DX7 vs DX8

I am hearing a lot of local people trying to sway me away from the DX8. Really for no reason other than they say I will never need 8 ch's. I am only planning to fly electric 450 size and smaller, and maybe a plane or two in the long foreseeable future.

Is there a compelling argument as to why I would need a DX7 or the DX8? What are the differences? I have been leaning toward the 8 simply because out of all the posts I read this seems to be the "most" radio that anyone here ever needs. But I am new to all of this and I'm sure very ignorant to the subject.
victorb17 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2012, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorb17 View Post
I am hearing a lot of local people trying to sway me away from the DX8. Really for no reason other than they say I will never need 8 ch's. I am only planning to fly electric 450 size and smaller, and maybe a plane or two in the long foreseeable future.

Is there a compelling argument as to why I would need a DX7 or the DX8? What are the differences? I have been leaning toward the 8 simply because out of all the posts I read this seems to be the "most" radio that anyone here ever needs. But I am new to all of this and I'm sure very ignorant to the subject.
get that 8. it really doesn't cost much more.

if I remember correctly, the additional features of the 8 vs 7:
  • 3 position switches on all
  • backlit screen
  • stock with lipo batterey - you may want to double check this one
  • extra channel