Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim > Phoenix Custom Creations


Phoenix Custom Creations Phoenix Flight Sim Custom Models and Fields


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2008, 06:24 PM   #1
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default NEW! Sly's B400 variant for Phoenix 2.0

Here it is! My best (so far) Blade 400 Variant for Phoenix version 2.0.

VERY close to the real deal (for me)!


Let me know how it feels. You may need to edit the model and change the piro rate and some other tweaks to match your own experience... your mileage may vary depending on your radio settings and upgrades etc. But.. with my radio setup.. this feels as CLOSE as is possible to my real B400. Instructions are included in the zip file.

My radio is INH for expo for aileron and elevator and -10 expo for rudder.

http://www.slyster.com/heli/SlyB400.zip
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-04-2008, 06:32 PM   #2
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

And here's the sound file.. works OK.. better than default anyway.. needs to go into the Phoenix folder..

And for some reason.. it sounds best with the Xaudio sound library selected.. I don't quite get sounds.. but anyway play with it...

http://www.slyster.com/heli/heli_400electric_mid.wav
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles

Last edited by Slyster; 11-08-2008 at 03:44 AM..
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-04-2008, 08:30 PM   #3
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Some B400 flier.. try this out and let me know how it feels!
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-05-2008, 07:41 AM   #4
Bradley Jones
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mill City Ma. USA
Default

I can wait to try this. I don't like the b400 on the sim, it's way too touchy. I bought phoenix to practice but when I can do better in real life it kind of defeats the point. How hard is it to load in your version of the b400? I never tried it before and I'm not a computer person.
Bradley Jones is offline       
Old 11-05-2008, 12:57 PM   #5
Helicrox
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cheshire UK
Default

Hi Slyster,
Very close for me. Haven't had to touch a thing. I also had the last variant you did with the motor audio and before the betas used it on a regular basis. I've had to use my own tweaked version since. I wouldn't be able to tell which one I was using had I not looked. The figures are pretty much identical.
Nice one bud.

Dave.
Helicrox is offline       
Old 11-06-2008, 02:51 PM   #6
BarryW
Registered Users
 
Posts: 35
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Default

Hi Slyster, I only got my B400 a couple of days ago and promised myself I would not fly it until I had at least 5 hours sim under my belt. I didn't get the sim until today so I JUST had to try out the real thing in the basement. Finally got it to the point where the tarining wheels were just off the floor, and played around with it for a while. When the sim came I was quite disappointed as trying to do what I had done in the basement was impossible as the controls were way too sensitive. I was getting a little disheartened at not being able to fly the sim!!

I discovered you variant and loaded it in, the sim now behaves the same way the real thing did,

Thank You!!
BarryW is offline       
Old 11-06-2008, 06:55 PM   #7
Bradley Jones
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mill City Ma. USA
Default

Sly's B400 varian is as close to real life as it gets!!!! Thanks sly you turned phoenix from a frustrating sim to a real life trainer.
Bradley Jones is offline       
Old 11-08-2008, 03:01 AM   #8
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Here's the sound file.. works OK.. better than default anyway.. needs to go into the Phoenix folder..

And for some reason.. it sounds best with the Xaudio sound library selected.. I don't quite get sounds.. but anyway play with it.

http://www.slyster.com/heli/heli_400electric_mid.wav
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 10:35 AM   #9
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,296
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Is this has the B400 flies stock ?? Its crazy slow.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #10
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Seem my sig for specs. I know it's a lot slower than the default Phoenix B400.. but it's spot on for how my real one flies. I believe it's only the tail thats slower than most peoples b400.. but that's how I like it. I don't have any expo on the cyclic in real life and thats how she flies!

Thats why I'd like feedback on the variant.

Anyone else with real B400 experience let me know whats 'wrong' or different about the variant.. besides the piro rate.. you can adjust that easily in Phoenix or your radio
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 12:28 PM   #11
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,296
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I don't own a B400 nor do i plan too, i was just curious about what you guy fly/want.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 01:19 PM   #12
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

What do you fly? A T-rex 450 stock setup is faster than a B400... but you can play with radio settings to get the B400 very twitchy and as fast as you want it.. they can really fly pretty much the same... I just like the way my B400 flies with stock radio settings at this point and matched the sim to it.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 01:21 PM   #13
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,296
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I have a 450se v2, G5, G5 Vbar, Furion.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 03:16 PM   #14
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Hey.. maybe you can tell me... (I just bought a 450sev2) how is the default T-Rex 450 on Phoenix compared to the real deal?
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-08-2008, 09:15 PM   #15
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,296
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Depends on setup. My personal setup is alot more powerful and quick, but most people find the 3D variant too quick.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now       
Old 11-11-2008, 09:32 PM   #16
BennyTRD
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Default

Just got a chance to try it Sly. It feels pretty close man. Good work.
BennyTRD is offline       
Old 11-11-2008, 09:42 PM   #17
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Thanks. If anyone has suggestions I can alter it. I do run my tail pretty slow.. mostly via radio... and it's reflected in the variant.. but if it seems TOO slow to you I can speed the variant up.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-17-2008, 09:57 PM   #18
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,321
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

My variant is updated and better now. From now on I'll post updated to my Blade 400 variant in the sticky.

Right click, save as.. if it opens up as text in a window. You want the pxv file

http://www.slyster.com/heli/blade400_sly400.pxv
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now       
Old 11-30-2008, 08:13 AM   #19
TowPilot
HF Support
 
Posts: 18,632
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryW View Post
Hi Slyster, I only got my B400 a couple of days ago and promised myself I would not fly it until I had at least 5 hours sim under my belt. I didn't get the sim until today so I JUST had to try out the real thing in the basement. Finally got it to the point where the tarining wheels were just off the floor, and played around with it for a while. When the sim came I was quite disappointed as trying to do what I had done in the basement was impossible as the controls were way too sensitive. I was getting a little disheartened at not being able to fly the sim!!

I discovered you variant and loaded it in, the sim now behaves the same way the real thing did,

Thank You!!
I am in the same boat, I was not able to hover the sim until I had hovered the real B400 for a few packs.... go figure.

Also, Sly crashed doing Tic Tocs.... saying he was doing fine in the sim but not in real life, so, does this mean the B400 on the sim is not as close to the real deal while doing Tic Tocs? Maybe some further work can be done to the sim model?

These things would not become known until tried. For instance, hovering alone would not show the sim as close to real, all but itself.

Each maneuver can bring out various slight adjustments needed...?
TowPilot is offline       
Old 12-20-2008, 09:17 PM   #20
willyh
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Default

Just found this thread and tried the variant. Like the paint scheme and the 400 flies closer to real life.

I think the instructions are for those running XP or W2k. If you're running Vista (no jokes please ) the locations are a bit different.

If you're running Vista (come on, enough with the cracks )do the following:

Copy both files "blade400#Blaze orange.bmp" and "blade400_SLY400.pxv" to:
c:\Program Files\PhoenixRC\resources\aircraft\Electric\blade4 00
Rename the existing "blade400.bmp" to "blade400original.bmp"
Rename the new "blade400#Blaze orange.bmp" to "blade400.bmp"

The sound file goes to c:\Program Files\PhoenixRC\resources\soundEffects\helicopters
If you want to keep a copy of the old file rename the existing file before copying the new one over.

Hope this helps the other person out there running Vista....hehehe.
willyh is offline       
Closed Thread




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim > Phoenix Custom Creations


Phoenix Custom Creations Phoenix Flight Sim Custom Models and Fields

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.