Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 05:29 AM   #1
Hanzuki
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Default B400 cc bec voltage

I Have a stock B400 and am going to install the CCBEC. My question is can the stock electronics take the preset 6v, or do I have to reduce it to 5v?

Thanks,
Ben
Hanzuki is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:59 AM   #2
bladelearnin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 580
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanzuki View Post
I Have a stock B400 and am going to install the CCBEC. My question is can the stock electronics take the preset 6v, or do I have to reduce it to 5v?

Thanks,
Ben
first off the ccbec comes programed for 5v and unless you have a castle link you can't change it. I think all the stock components are designed to run on 5v but could be wrong maybe some of the gurus can give some input ttyl blade
__________________
Trex 450 sport super combo all stock with DX7 and 6100E receiver and proud owner of Blade MCPX, sweet!!! Oh and my new 250 se soon to be fbl and don't forget Phoenix flight sim
bladelearnin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:15 AM   #3
Hanzuki
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Default

Sorry, your right, I just went and double checked. It is 5.1 out of the package. Someone had told me it was six and I got all worried about having to get the usb cable for another 30$ when I could have bought the align esc for the combined amount. Although I will be upgrading the esc later but thats another matter.

So now my question is simply, does anyone know for sure, that I can run the ccbec as is or if it has to be lowered to 4.8v?

Thanks,
Ben
Hanzuki is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:49 AM   #4
twistedgrim
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Default

you can run the 5.1 volts the CC Bec puts out.. im using a cheapo hobbywing 3A that puts out 5.1V just like the CC BEC. I believe the servos can take the 6v but the gyro cant.
twistedgrim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:23 AM   #5
Tail boom
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

Hi,

The G110 can take up to 8V, but I would be careful with hitting the stock servos with 6V. They might not like it. Just stick with 5V and you will be fine.

See the stock servo specs here:
http://www.e-fliterc.com/Products/Te...odID=EFLRDS75H

Best,
Frank
Tail boom is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:35 AM   #6
fishboy77
Registered Users
 
Posts: 895
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tail boom View Post
Hi,

The G110 can take up to 8V, but I would be careful with hitting the stock servos with 6V. They might not like it. Just stick with 5V and you will be fine.
I would be careful with hitting my B400 with the stock servos.
__________________
Lloyd Robinson
Fusion 550, Protos 500, Blade 400, Simple T-copter
fishboy77 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:02 AM   #7
Tail boom
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishboy77 View Post
I would be careful with hitting my B400 with the stock servos.
+1
Tail boom is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 03:49 PM   #8
bladelearnin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 580
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanzuki View Post
Sorry, your right, I just went and double checked. It is 5.1 out of the package. Someone had told me it was six and I got all worried about having to get the usb cable for another 30$ when I could have bought the align esc for the combined amount. Although I will be upgrading the esc later but thats another matter.

So now my question is simply, does anyone know for sure, that I can run the ccbec as is or if it has to be lowered to 4.8v?

Thanks,
Ben
I got a good deal on my Align ESC $40.00 US and it is the best thing I ever did . The soft start is the best feature and with the ccbec it doesn;t even get warm and if I wanna go 6v just hook it to my buddies castle link /My stock ESC even with the bec got warm Highly rec by me ttyl blade
__________________
Trex 450 sport super combo all stock with DX7 and 6100E receiver and proud owner of Blade MCPX, sweet!!! Oh and my new 250 se soon to be fbl and don't forget Phoenix flight sim
bladelearnin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 06:31 PM   #9
Redfire SVT
Registered Users
 
Posts: 834
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas (Rowlett)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanzuki View Post
Someone had told me it was six and I got all worried about having to get the usb cable for another 30$ when I could have bought the align esc for the combined amount. Although I will be upgrading the esc later but thats another matter.
You could have bought the Align ESC but having an external BEC is the ideal way to go. Any ESC could fail or shutdown which not only kills the motor but the internal BEC as well. With an external BEC you still have full control, minus the motor, and can auto in. Beats lawn darting any day.

I do agree that the usb cable for $30 is highway robbery. Maybe a local shop can program it for you.
Redfire SVT is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:10 AM   #10
Hanzuki
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Default

The BEC is a must after my thermal shut down resulting in a missile of death last tuesday. The align esc is my next upgrade followed by some ds285's. Im suffering from withdrawl as I havent been able to fly in the last week. The weather here is so crappy your hands freeze up in about 10 seconds. That and the gyro doesn't like it one bit.

Thanks,
Ben
Hanzuki is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com