Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2008, 02:03 PM   #1
mjbrands
Registered Users
 
Posts: 601
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default Stupid action #17

I just tried to verify my Align RCE-BL60G was correctly setup to output 6V to the electronics. I tried to do this by connecting a small extension lead to the bat port of my AR7000 and then use a multimeter to read the voltage off of the pins in the open connector. The only result was a small click in the ESC. Yipee, my hand must've slipped causing me to short the sucker.

There goes another $90.

Note to self: never do that again...

At least now I don't have to find out if the built-in BEC is good enough.
mjbrands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Uncle Remus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 140
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Default

Awh man!! I'm sorry! I hate it when that happens. We all have a brain now and then. I guess those are the lessons we'll not soon forget, eh?

Get back in the air soon.

Hoot
__________________
Trex 500 CF: 3x DS3517's, ds760 w/9257, 12T, Grey Dampers (for now)
Trex 450SE V2: 3x HS65mg's, GY-401 w/9650, 12T, TB Dampers
Blade CX2 (Doesn't everyone)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RealFlight G3.5
AMA#895105
Uncle Remus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 08:29 PM   #3
xptical
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,003
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Robins AFB, Georgia
Default

I took a servo extension cord and cut it. Then, I removed the signal wire. Finally, I cut the red wire about 10cm shorter than the black wire. No chance of shorting them out.
__________________
She felt like someone of an ambiguous age that even neilg would approve of...
xptical is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 08:47 PM   #4
lavi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haifa Israel
Default

why spend 90$ when you can fix the esc ?
if you are not afraid of soldering, you should read this thread,
otherwise, send it over to me and I'll fix it for you (given it is the same problem as i expect it to be). I'm expecting a letter with 2 Mosfets (the part that usually blows inside the ESC) from MTDV, so I'll have 1 spare and I'll be happy to help,
lavi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:18 AM   #5
conrod
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Default

WoW! That's really cool of you, Lavi.
conrod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:19 PM   #6
mjbrands
Registered Users
 
Posts: 601
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xptical View Post
I took a servo extension cord and cut it. Then, I removed the signal wire. Finally, I cut the red wire about 10cm shorter than the black wire. No chance of shorting them out.
This sounds like a good and fairly risk-free way to do it.
mjbrands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:31 PM   #7
Aberdeen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 482
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Just add a BEC to it. CC makes a good one..
Or Have Lavi fix it for you.
__________________
In a world of compromise, some don't!
Aberdeen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:23 PM   #8
mjbrands
Registered Users
 
Posts: 601
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aberdeen View Post
Just add a BEC to it. CC makes a good one..
Or Have Lavi fix it for you.
I tried that. I cut the red wire and connected the ESC to the throttle channel again. I then connected a battery to the ESC and a NiMH pack to the bat port of the AR7000 I was using. Nothing, no tones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavi View Post
why spend 90$ when you can fix the esc ?
if you are not afraid of soldering, you should read this thread,
otherwise, send it over to me and I'll fix it for you (given it is the same problem as i expect it to be). I'm expecting a letter with 2 Mosfets (the part that usually blows inside the ESC) from MTDV, so I'll have 1 spare and I'll be happy to help,
Given my soldering skills and the equipment I have (80 watt soldering iron meant for plumbing), I think soldering SMD components is quite a bit out of my reach.

I'll PM you, it would be nice if the ESC could be repaired. I carefully opened up the ESC and the broken IC was indeed the 4425 MOSFET. I had a look at datasheets for compatible parts (Microchip and Micrel) and what surprises me is that it lists a 3A peak output current. I think Align lists 3A continuous with a 5A peak.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kindness_is.jpg
Views:	685
Size:	18.7 KB
ID:	72383  
mjbrands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 03:23 AM   #9
Mike66
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,929
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Darmstadt, Germany (APO AE)
Default

The internal BEC on the ESC likely provides the power for the ESC electronics as well. If this is the case and the MOSFET failed, then the ESC will not power up.
__________________
T-Rex 500
Mike66 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:12 AM   #10
mjbrands
Registered Users
 
Posts: 601
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike66 View Post
The internal BEC on the ESC likely provides the power for the ESC electronics as well. If this is the case and the MOSFET failed, then the ESC will not power up.
That's what I thought/hoped.
mjbrands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:23 AM   #11
neilius
Registered Users
 
Posts: 197
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hertford, UK
Default

Yep, did a similar thing here. Removed a servo wire and replugged it but I must have moved the pins across when plugging back in. Nasty smoke came out the esc, very silly thing to do, I should have just disconnect the batt first when replugging and checked properly..
neilius is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 06:31 PM   #12
mjbrands
Registered Users
 
Posts: 601
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Default

W00T! I went to the post office today to pick up the ESC Lavi generously fixed.

It's great to have it back, thank you very much Lavi.

If anyone else screws up the BEC in their ESC and knows someone with SMD soldering skills, PM me - I still have some suitable replacement MOSFETs I'm willing to give away.
mjbrands is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 06:56 AM   #13
conrod
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Default

Lavi is Da Man! What I did to test mine was to use a male/male connector. Plugged one male into the rx and used my load meter to check voltage. I set the esc to 6v but when I put a load on it (1 amp) it held 5.8v. Maybe that's why people are getting away with not using a stepdown for tail servo. I use the step down regardless.
conrod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 01:49 PM   #14
lavi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haifa Israel
Wink

Great !!!

Very happy to help.
and even more - Very happy that you will be back in the air soon.

also, mjbrands sent me some extra mosfets, so if anyone else has a smoked BL60G, but no SMD soldering skills, I will be happy to help.
just send it over and I'll fix it.

Lavi
lavi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:43 PM   #15
Guitar
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Default esc rescue

Hi . I read your post on fixing the 60 amp esc's. I have 2 that I fried and I know I cannot fix them. Any chance you can help ?

Thanks -Jeff
Guitar is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com