Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2008, 01:06 AM   #1
babymoneek
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Default Protos on 4s

Ive been searching and searching to see anyone with their protos set up with a 4s lipo. I cant seem to find any info on this. I'm trying to do something a little different than averyone else cause it seems like evertone that has the protos is pretty skilled, doing 3d and all. I just want to know if anyone has tried it yet. cause on the website it says i works with 4s thru 6s. I rather work my way from bottom to the top. what size pinion should i use. 20
babymoneek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:20 AM   #2
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

I'm running 4S 3700mah, Scorpion 1400kv, 15T pinion
It goes hard - but the battery gets to 54 degrees C
and it's only good for a 4 minute flight
which is ok considering I'm doing 3,000 on the head

6S is a more efficient setup and draws less current

I like 4S simply to share batteries with my Lepton and ePlane
The 4S 3700mah battery is lighter than the 6S 2500
and it also a bit cheaper to buy the 4S battery
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 10:39 AM   #3
babymoneek
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Default

Being cheaper is a major plus. But what pinion tooth should I use for the stock motor? I'm planning on getting one today. I didnt even think you could get 3000 headspeed with a 4s. That scorpion is a BEAST
__________________
MSH Protos 500, stock motor, 9650 Cyclic, 401 9257
babymoneek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 12:18 PM   #4
CatchmyCorsair
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,790
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Default

6s can be as tame as 4s. It's all in your setup. 6s usage evolved mainly out of the idea that we could use 2 3s lipos from our 450. Even if I was just hovering, I wouldn't go 4s. I don't want the heat.

You can run 6s and reduce your throttle curve, or more preferably change your gear ratio or motor Kv. I have a Kontronik Kora with a 690Kv that will be perfect for milder flight, so look for a Kv lower than 800 if you can to use 6s. Did you see Corrado's 12 min 2100 rpm demonstration of a "beginner's" flight? Do a search in this forum.

And the higher pinion tooth count, the faster your headspeed will be.
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:26 PM   #5
babymoneek
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Default

I guess i have to stop being cheap. The lipo charger that i have can only charge up to 5s. I could go with 2 3s lipos but i really dont want to go that route. Im trying to stick with a 4s or 5s. and since msh claims the protos flys good with the 4s i would like to try that. I never though about the heat though!
__________________
MSH Protos 500, stock motor, 9650 Cyclic, 401 9257
babymoneek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:30 PM   #6
psych-lick
Registered Users
 
Posts: 121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Portland
Default

4S will work fine with 18-20 tooth pinion. Just be careful with the current. 4S will draw much more amps thru the ESC and into the motor than a 5S or 6S will. I don't know how many amps the motor rated for but 4S on 20t will probably be pushing the limits.

Just realize that motor on this heli WILL consume upwards of 1200 watts at a high head speed and full collective.
1200watts / 14.5 volts = 82 amps!

fyi - the scorpion 3026-880 motor is only rated for 52 amps max continuous current.
__________________
-Jeff T.
psych-lick is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:41 PM   #7
CatchmyCorsair
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,790
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Default

If you can't go 6s, at least go 5s. (IMO)
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 03:10 PM   #8
babymoneek
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Default

Thanks for all the help. I guess ill be ordering a 5s today!!
__________________
MSH Protos 500, stock motor, 9650 Cyclic, 401 9257
babymoneek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:06 PM   #9
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

All good posts and information

Another point to remember is that the Lepton and Protos have the highest gearing of all the 500 helis - that's why I like to be on the smallest pinion to keep the gear ratio as low as possible

The 5S 3700 Outrage packs are a very good option
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:43 PM   #10
NolanManley
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,765
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daleville AL (Ft Rucker)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jafa View Post
All good posts and information

Another point to remember is that the Lepton and Protos have the highest gearing of all the 500 helis - that's why I like to be on the smallest pinion to keep the gear ratio as low as possible

The 5S 3700 Outrage packs are a very good option
Better check the size of the 3700 even in 5S. Not much room under the canopy.
__________________
Stratus & Protos.
Magnum Fuel, KBDD intl Products
NolanManley is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:56 PM   #11
ayash
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CatchmyCorsair View Post
You can run 6s and reduce your throttle curve, or more preferably change your gear ratio or motor Kv.
How do you change the gear ratio? Are there different gears for the Protos? The smallest pinion is 15 so can't go below that.
ayash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 05:35 PM   #12
HighFreq
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolanManley View Post
Better check the size of the 3700 even in 5S. Not much room under the canopy.
5S 3700 fit with no proble, actually the Protos has the largest battery space under the canopy in its class.


Corrado
__________________
www.msheli.com
HighFreq is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 05:43 PM   #13
babymoneek
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Default

Yeah I've seen a couple of people using the 5s 3700 lipo. Seems to fit pretty darn good! Im thinking of going with two zippy 5s 3600 20c until i get all into the insane 3d ill step up to more expensive batts.
__________________
MSH Protos 500, stock motor, 9650 Cyclic, 401 9257
babymoneek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 03:07 AM   #14
kgfly
HF Support
 
Posts: 4,969
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Stock motor (800kv) 5S with 18t should give you a comfortable headspeed in the range 2200-2500 which won't stress the battery too hard.
__________________
Kenneth
* MSH Protos Stock motor/15t/Align75/Align DS510/GL730+DS520/7s A123 2300
* TRex450CF/430L/12t/CC45/HS65mg/L2100T/KP 3s 2200 25C or 4S LiFe
Previous rides: HX242, W5-4, TRex450(HDE), TRex450(SE), QJ-EP8v2, BCX2 ,Logo10, Hurricane550
SIM: Phoenix (previously also Reflex/XTR, ClearView, RF, FMS)
kgfly is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:14 PM   #15
spartan2381
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Roselle Park, NJ
Default Will this battery fit?

Looking to order ZIPPY Flightmax 4000mAh 6S1P 20Cand wanted ti know if it will fit. If not does anyone have dimensions and max weight of the largest battery this heli can support. Thanks.

Weight: 675g
Dimensions: 147x52x39mm
spartan2381 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 01:43 AM   #16
Jafa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Default

675 grams - nearly two times over weight
There may not be much collective pop with that on board
__________________
Rave 450 | Lepton | Logo 400/500/600 | Aeolus | Sceadu | Freya | Avant FX | Raptor G4

Gryphon field rep
Jafa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 12:33 PM   #17
JustPlaneChris
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,525
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Default

Waaaaay too big (and heavy) for the Protos.
__________________
-Chris
JustPlaneChris is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos


MSH Protos MSH Protos Helicopter Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.