Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support > Duralite


Duralite Duralite Battery Li-Ion Li-Mn Chargers Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2004, 07:34 PM   #1
Kinger
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,484
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Default Question Regarding Duralite Charger

Hey guys,

Lately I've been thinking of switching over to the Duralite system for my two Evo's. (2800 flat packs) My question concerns the use of the 1RX 7.4 Volt DC charger. Can this charger be hooked up to a power supply without any problems (I've got a Hobbico 12V supply that I'm using with my current charger.) or do I need to purchase the wall adapter?

Anyone using the 2800 packs with analog servos? Just curious as to how many flights I might get if my Evo's have 9202's all the way around other than the 9253 on the tail.

Thanks,

Mike
__________________
Team Synergy
Kinger is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:46 PM   #2
pepper
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: texarkana, ar
Default

I was running 4 9252's , 601, tj pro. and some mild aerobatics and a 4000 pack lasted me i think about 4 days before i just decided to change them, it still load tested just over 6.1,
not really sure about the 2800 packs, but i will for sure be staying with duralites!!.
as far as the charger, to be just plain safe, i have the wall charger..

pepper
GOD BLESS
__________________
ONE DAY YOU ARE NICE, JUST MAY CHANGE SOMEONE'S LIFE!!!!
pepper is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:49 PM   #3
WillJames
Registered User
 
Posts: 42,722
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Shannon gets about 10 flights on his Ion with a 2800 pack. :glasses2:
__________________
William James
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 08:04 PM   #4
DavidH
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Default

Mike,
You can use a power supply to power the Duralite charger. The charger will operate off 12 volts from a battery or from the wall adapter. A power supply that is putting out 13 volts will handle the job.

David
DavidH is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 10:17 PM   #5
Kinger
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,484
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Default

Thanks guys.

David- The Hobbico is rated to give an output of 12V. Will that not cut it?
__________________
Team Synergy
Kinger is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 05:40 AM   #6
BigVanVader
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,793
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Middle TN
Default

that should work fine Kinger....i use a power supply from a computer to power my duralite charger.....no problems
__________________
Vance Hill


My HF Map location
BigVanVader is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 06:15 AM   #7
Kinger
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,484
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Default

Thanks for all of the comments guys. Ended up buying two 2800 flat packs, 2 5.1 regs w/failsafe switches, the wall unit and the 1 RX output charger this week. Decided I would just part ways with my charger, PS and old packs once the new stuff arrives to help offset the cost.

Looking forward to the new Duralites arriving next week!
__________________
Team Synergy
Kinger is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 07:48 AM   #8
Fredrik aka. mrNoodles
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Borlänge, Sweden
Default

Hey Kinger!
First you have the same worn issues on your EVO as on mine Sceadu, then you go ahead and order 2 packs and 2 5.1V regs w/switches as I just did. :cool:
(I ended up with 2x4000mA, 4 output charger)

You must be one of my missing twinbrothers :wink:
__________________
TeamHirobo Sweden
Fredrik aka. mrNoodles is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 11:26 AM   #9
Kinger
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,484
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Default

LOL.........you are cracking me up Fredrik Make sure you post some pictures of how you got your 4000mah packs in your Evo. (If that's in fact where you are putting them.)

Funny you mention the wear problem on the Evo. Just noticed yesterday that I think I have a cracked autohub bearing on mine. When I gave the heli 1/4 throttle on the ground the engine reved up but the rotors didn't turn. Then all of a sudden it engaged at about a little less than 1/2 throttle. Trying to determine if it's a worn clutch liner or my bearing.
__________________
Team Synergy
Kinger is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 03:40 AM   #10
Fredrik aka. mrNoodles
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Borlänge, Sweden
Default

Hey Kinger!
Just recieved my Duralites, tremendous fast service (Jack is the man!), shipped on Thursday/Friday.
Will post pics of them, one for my Freya and one for the Sceadu.

PS. I cracked/replaced my onewaybearing earlier this Spring - 'brother'! :wink:
__________________
TeamHirobo Sweden
Fredrik aka. mrNoodles is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support > Duralite


Duralite Duralite Battery Li-Ion Li-Mn Chargers Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.