Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 01:39 AM   #1
Flightlutions
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Default Spektrum DX7 - No Power - FIXED!!!!

Just figured that I'd share this with you guys just in case someone else has this problem.

I left my spectrum DX7 charging overnight and while I was doing my pre-flight check before I left the house the DX7 didn't power on.

I tested the battery with a Volt meter and it was fully charged. I then called Horrion Hobby and all they said was I have to send in the DX7 for service.

So I opened up the back cover and noticed that there is a fuse just above the Power switch. I removed the fuse and sure enough the fuse was blown.

Went to my local hardware store and picked up some extra fuses. The DX7 started buzzing just like she always does! :

Hope this helps someone in the future.
Flightlutions is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:52 AM   #2
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Very nice to know.......Thanks!
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:47 AM   #3
aharmsworth
Registered Users
 
Posts: 42
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Default

I too had the same problem, in the UK you can get the fuses form Maplin's cost 1.89 for 10. The original fuse was 3 amps the nearest I could get was 3.15 Amp Quick blow fuses size 20mm.
aharmsworth is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 11:53 PM   #4
SavageKen
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Default

Just had the same thing happen, first time a search has worked for me!!! cool I will change the fuse I noticed the fuse was blown. I was unsure to fix it or send it in thanks for finding this thread!!

Ken.
SavageKen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:40 PM   #5
neilg.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Default

why didn't you tell us sooner .

i sent my dx7 in because screen was dead


now i got to wait 6 weeks for a freakin fuse
neilg. is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:49 PM   #6
sadsy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beverley, East yorks, UK
Default

id bloody kiss you!! i was just pulling my hair out with my new dx7 after setting my 600 up, went to charge it and no power or anything, was JUST about to pack it up to be raped of my money to fix it, but guess what, it sure is the bloody fuse ha ha
sadsy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:20 PM   #7
distractor
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia
Default

I'm certainly no radio expert but, when a fuse blows, it has blown for a reason.
I'd try and find out what happened so it doesn't happen again while your in the field.
distractor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:31 PM   #8
sadsy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beverley, East yorks, UK
Default

Yep i agree, i will get a fuse first and see if its all ok, i cannot remember if i turned the tx off before i plugged it in the charger now, could that blow it
sadsy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:02 AM   #9
distractor
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia
Default

I doubt it. The radio would be protected from something as simple as that.
Are blown fuses a common problem with Spektrum radios or the DX7 in particular?
distractor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:34 PM   #10
sadsy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beverley, East yorks, UK
Default

I dont know if its a common prob, i spoke to my heli dealer and he asked if id plugged the wrong charger in with a differant polarity, i had plugged a differant charger in but it wasnt switched on at the mains, ive put a new fuse in now and been flying the heli today so alls good for now,
sadsy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 10:07 PM   #11
Twrecks600
Registered Users
 
Posts: 851
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Round Rock Texas
Default

I had blown a fuse in my DX7 when I plugged in a buddy cord. I have plugged in the same cord a hundred times and never had an issue but one day when I plugged it in, it just quit working. I have a pretty extensive electronics background so my first thought was a fuse and sure enough, it was!! 5 minute repair but I agree with a previous post. Why did it blow in the first place. It hasn't happened since then so I must have plugged the cord in wrong!!
__________________
Team me
Twrecks600 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:56 PM   #12
distractor
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia
Default

This seems to be a common problem with the DX7 on various forums.
Spektrum need to address this problem quick. For the price of the radio,
you would expect better protection circuitry like an internal PTC fuse.
Agreeably, you would expect the fuse to blow if you plugged in the wrong charger
but not something like a buddy box lead.
distractor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:39 PM   #13
robl
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Default

only time i've blown the fuse is plugging in the wrong charge cord that had the polarity reversed.
robl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:27 PM   #14
lanex29
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: florida
Default

Another happy camper, plugged in my DX6 eflite cord into my DX7 and it went dead, luckiliy I remembered seeing something one this forum and "yes" it was the fuse. Saved me from freaking out.
Thanks, best ever info.
lanex29 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 11:22 PM   #15
Silverexpress01
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,398
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MI
Default

Holy Cow! Plugged in the e-flite wall wart without talking a good glance, and blew that little fuse. I just about puked my heart out, when the thing went dead.

I've got a question, would it hurt if I unsolder the two wires going to the male charge plug on the TX, and swapping their positions? That way I can put away the darn one-off Spektrum wall wart and use my Futaba charger and pretty much everything else!
__________________
Jose (Youtube -> Silverexpress01
See also Helifreak Blog)
MCPx 76/7 | Trex 250 DFC 667/19 | Hurricane 200 FES 143/7

Last edited by Silverexpress01; 03-03-2010 at 11:23 AM..
Silverexpress01 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 06:54 AM   #16
N017RW
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,079
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Default

Yes.

Assuming all other aspects of these [other] chargers are similar (voltage, current, and connector.)

Matching connector polarity to a different charger is fine.

Now you have to put the spektrum charger away!
N017RW is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:03 AM   #17
life2short1971
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort White,Florida
Default

Just be sure no one plugs a spektrum charger into it again. Like if you sell it or something.
__________________
Scott

Trex 500 / /3026-1600/CC Ice75 /3G /Ds510's/Torsion 430 fbl's
Trex 450 pro/HK2221-8/ Ice 50 /HS-5065MG/325D's/Kbdd's
life2short1971 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:44 AM   #18
Silverexpress01
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,398
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MI
Default

Thanks guys. As a followup, I did the following...

1. Spektrum DX7 - I swapped the charger port wires - Brown and Red. The battery is a 9.6 volt Nimh
2. Spektrum TX/RX Charger SPM922 - I also swapped the wires on this. The TX output is
DC 11.6v 110mA

I did the charger also because currently I use three transmitters
1. Spektrum DX7
2. Walkera 2801 Pro
3. Futaba Car TX

both the Walkera and the Futaba have been using a charger that outputs 9.6v Dc, and 70ma. So now I only need to bring one charger to charge them all, and the DX-7 now has a decreased chance of blowing a fuse. Of all the wall warts I carry, the Spektrum outputs the most DC voltage at 11.6 volts, and amperage at 110ma.

Note: I had plugged in the E-flite wall wart twice into the DX-7. The first time it did go dead, but came back on after a few minutes. I speculate that the fuse blew, and was still making momentary contact. I had no knowledge of the fuse at that time. It was only the second time it happened, and I did the research on the net - I found this thread and a thread on RCUniverse.com. This meant that I was flying around using a transmitter with a momentary power on condition! Until of course the second time I plugged in the e-flite wall wart and completly burnt out the fuse.

By the way, what happens when you loose power to your TX while your flying a helicopter?
__________________
Jose (Youtube -> Silverexpress01
See also Helifreak Blog)
MCPx 76/7 | Trex 250 DFC 667/19 | Hurricane 200 FES 143/7

Last edited by Silverexpress01; 03-03-2010 at 11:22 AM..
Silverexpress01 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 06:56 PM   #19
helijack
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,528
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverexpress01 View Post
Thanks guys. As a followup, I did the following...

1. Spektrum DX7 - I swapped the charger port wires - Brown and Red. The battery is a 9.6 volt Nimh
2. Spektrum TX/RX Charger SPM922 - I also swapped the wires on this. The TX output is
DC 11.6v 110mA

I did the charger also because currently I use three transmitters
1. Spektrum DX7
2. Walkera 2801 Pro
3. Futaba Car TX

both the Walkera and the Futaba have been using a charger that outputs 9.6v Dc, and 70ma. So now I only need to bring one charger to charge them all, and the DX-7 now has a decreased chance of blowing a fuse. Of all the wall warts I carry, the Spektrum outputs the most DC voltage at 11.6 volts, and amperage at 110ma.

Note: I had plugged in the E-flite wall wart twice into the DX-7. The first time it did go dead, but came back on after a few minutes. I speculate that the fuse blew, and was still making momentary contact. I had no knowledge of the fuse at that time. It was only the second time it happened, and I did the research on the net - I found this thread and a thread on RCUniverse.com. This meant that I was flying around using a transmitter with a momentary power on condition! Until of course the second time I plugged in the e-flite wall wart and completly burnt out the fuse.

By the way, what happens when you loose power to your TX while your flying a helicopter?
Could you, if at all possible, show pictures of how you swapped the wires, where they are, etc etc etc? It would make it so much easier to do if we could see what needs to be done. Also, pictures of the charger swap, too. Thanks.
__________________
T-Rex 450 SE V1, HS65MG, 9650, 325 CF, AR6100, 2200 FlightMax, 430XL/BL35X, GY401 ...SOLD
T-Rex 500ESP...SOLD
DX7...Still for sale
M.A.A.C. 78596 www.helicalgary.com
Ex President - Calgary RC Heli Club
helijack is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:30 PM   #20
Silverexpress01
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,398
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MI
Default

my prior info presented was deemed inaccurate - I removed it, and am redoing it. Will repost in a day or so.

Last edited by Silverexpress01; 03-03-2010 at 11:21 AM..
Silverexpress01 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.