Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters


600 Class Electric Helicopters 600 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 08:45 AM   #1
SkinWalk3r
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,655
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: pontiac, mi
Default ok to run up motor without a rotor blade load ?

I want to test my gear mesh etc. I want to take the head assembly off the mast and just run up the motor(main mast will be on). Is that ok ? or will revving the motor up without a load burn it out ?
SkinWalk3r is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 10:27 AM   #2
Mr.Andersen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,688
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trondheim Norway
Default

Acording to the math there should not be a problem to do so.
The RPM of the motor are set bye two factors.

1* Voltage
2* KV rating.

So the motor shold never exeede the rpm desided bye these factors.
Wors case cenario is fore example with a 12S setup and 630KV motor 4,2(max cell viltage) x 12 x 630 = 31752rpm.
In flight there wil be lagg so the rpm of the motor will be less.

The reason it is these way is becouse a brushless motor is in fact a 3~ motor running on 3~squere pulses modulated bye the ESC and the max frequency out of it is desided bye the input woltage.
In other words the ESC regulate the motor bye frequensy.

With that said i have read people got their motors damaged bye running it without load, personaly i think its other reasons fore that but doing it is at youre own risk.
__________________
CopTreX 450 SE V2, Pro..... real bastard.

Last edited by Mr.Andersen; 02-05-2009 at 03:11 AM..
Mr.Andersen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 12:05 PM   #3
Anubis328
Registered Users
 
Posts: 429
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Trinity, Florida
Default

Do you even need to run the motor to test the gear mesh? Just spin the head by hand, & make sure it's not too tight (which could kill your motor with or without blades), and make sure it's tight enough that it won't skip.
__________________
***In the hanger (in order of entry)***
-Blade CP Frankenstein Edition (Retired); Align T-Rex 450 SE (Retired); Align T-Rex 600 8s, Neu 1515 2.5d/h, CC 85HV; Align T-Rex 450 SE V2; Blade mCX
Anubis328 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 10:36 PM   #4
hondahirny
Registered Users
 
Posts: 263
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Default

You can do if if you wish. I've done that to test my chinese weight mod where i spooled up and worked the tail linkage by hand. Without the load of the main rotor, you will reach a higher peak RPM, so you might want to back off the throttle 10% or so.
__________________
Ex heli pilot, now trolling HF as a glider pilot
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hondahirny is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters


600 Class Electric Helicopters 600 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com