Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 09:09 AM   #1
WyDiablo
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default From DX6i to DX7

Will the settings that I have now in my DX6i for the T-Rex 450SE work/or be the same in my new DX7?

Thanks
WyDiablo
WyDiablo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:16 AM   #2
dbald1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 21
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greshan OR
Default

I just got a DX7 this weekend and found it easier to take the head off the bird and go thru the swash setup again. There are some things that come out different like subtrim.
dbald1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:28 AM   #3
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

diablo,

The settings might transfer over just fine. Wouldn't hurt to try it. If everything looks level, moves in the proper direction, and your pitch ranges check out, I'd call it good. But if you have any doubts, do like bald1 said and go through the set-up from scratch.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:45 AM   #4
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,445
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

They do NOT transfer at all. I tried. And swash was messed up etc etc. Had to do the complete setup over again.. but worth it! I love the DX7!
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:14 AM   #5
markleyland
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,106
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colchester, UK
Default

+1 You will have to start form scratch, one way to get to know your new TX!
__________________
"Sort your head out and fly with your heart"
Trex 450 SE V2: 9257 tail, Spartan Quark, HS65mg cyclic, DX7-AR7000, NEU 1107h/2y, Jazz Esc,
Trex 550 FBL: Jive 100+LV, KDE/NEU 1907H/1/N42, Vbar 5.3, Futaba BLS 251
markleyland is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:41 AM   #6
WyDiablo
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Thanks I was thinging that I might have to start from scratch again

WyDiablo
WyDiablo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:01 PM   #7
pwoodyp
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Etobicoke (Toronto), Ont, Canada
Default

Would not the pitch and throttle curves convert over quite accurately.. then what else is there the GYRO... gain would need to adjusted but that would be so even between same model numbers.
pwoodyp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:04 PM   #8
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,445
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

yep.. they do just fine on any radio. But swash mixes don't.. some - I had to make +... and gyro and expo values don't have the same value etc. Travel adjusts are different too etc etc
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:09 PM   #9
pwoodyp
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Etobicoke (Toronto), Ont, Canada
Default

Well it does disprove everyone with their blanket statements .... hehe the devil is in the details ya.
pwoodyp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:17 PM   #10
WyDiablo
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

I just hope that when my 4 new batteries get here that the DX7 will not be a nightmare to progam and get the bird into the air. I have not even started reading the manual at all, so I think it will turn out ok. I"m just not quite sure about the binding process that they show in the manual. The way they have it drawing in the example is very confusing to me to say the least. I have never used and extra battery to binding a TX to an Rx before. So I hope that things go well, if not I'll have several question lol.

WyDiblo
WyDiablo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:29 PM   #11
pwoodyp
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Etobicoke (Toronto), Ont, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WyDiablo View Post
I"m just not quite sure about the binding process that they show in the manual. The way they have it drawing in the example is very confusing to me to say the least. I have never used and extra battery to binding a TX to an Rx before.
That binding procedure is for planks, you don't need nor need to use the battery pack and switch harness.. just need the binding plug and plug into any open pinouts on the Rx, probably the battery pinouts, well assuming you are setting up using your LIPO and the BEC.... either or you don't need to set the binding up like in the manual.. odds or you didn't even get the battery pack and switch harness in the helicopter package. Bah, maybe you did then sure you can use both methods then but for simple binding you just need the binding plug and LIPO/BEC plugged into any open pinouts on the Rx
pwoodyp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:40 PM   #12
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,445
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwoodyp View Post
Well it does disprove everyone with their blanket statements .... hehe the devil is in the details ya.
well.. naturally since pitch and throttle curves are not "setting up the head/heli" most wouldn't include those.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 01:04 PM   #13
pwoodyp
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Etobicoke (Toronto), Ont, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyster View Post
well.. naturally since pitch and throttle curves are not "setting up the head/heli" most wouldn't include those.
Semantics and not a big deal, your right of course
pwoodyp is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:56 PM   #14
dmalovic
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Croatia
Default

Dx6i is actually easier to program. I hate you need to power off the DX7 to get into the setup menu - how lame .

In my conversion the following things were different
1. Subtrims (which means you need to take the head off and setup swash again)
2. Travel adjusts for swash up down position
3. Some servo reversing
4. Some swash direction (+/-) and values

I used the monitor screen on DX6i and DX7 and did the swash and reversing so that all the channels move in the right direction, so I setup the new Tx from take one, as far as the head movement is concerned.

One note, DX7 also has a worse way to handle gyro sense. There is no way to assign gyro rate to the gear switch, EVEN though you use the gear channel for sensing?! So the best way is just to use travel adjustments for those. Again, use the monitor and reverse the channel that you are in rate mode whan the switch is down! true gain = endpoint/1.44, remember. A good start is 42 let's say!
dmalovic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 06:53 PM   #15
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,445
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

You can NOT (as far I've found) use the gear switch to go from rate to heading hold.. I ended up making my throttle hold switch ON switch rate mode on. Fine by me since I don't ever fly in rate mode.... but it's odd you can't use the gear switch for pretty much anything.

Still loving the DX7 anyway!
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:28 PM   #16
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

What?

If you set GEAR to GEAR, and with the gyro signal wire in the receiver's Gear Channel, can you not use the Gear switch (via endpoints) to flip between gyro rates? A negative value should give you rate mode and a positive value should give you heading hold mode.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.