Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Scale Helicopters > Electronics


Electronics Electronics Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2009, 12:57 PM   #1
GRIM REAPER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 57
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Gyro location question

I have an Align 500D 450 scale fuselage coming, and I was wondering would the gyro be mounted on top, or on the bottom to clear the aft rear fuselage? Thank you.

P.S. I have looked at allot of the pics on here, and can't seem to find any that show the proper location.
GRIM REAPER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
daniel reese
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Urbana OH
Default

have mine in the "stock" location- on top of the boom blocks. No fitment problems at all (TRex450 & Align MD500E)
daniel reese is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:18 PM   #3
GRIM REAPER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 57
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel reese View Post
have mine in the "stock" location- on top of the boom blocks. No fitment problems at all (TRex450 & Align MD500E)
Great, thank you Daniel I appreciate the info. This will be my first fuselage.
GRIM REAPER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:00 PM   #4
daniel reese
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Urbana OH
Default

measure twice....y'know, THAT old addage.

Ive done a few of these- 450 size and 600 too. It seems the first one I ever did was the easiest then they kept getting harder after that- for no good reason. Just one of those things I guess.

The 450s, for me, have been easier fits than the 600 and having a scale body on the little heli makes it alot easier to keep track of when flying outside. That little "fish head" gets real small, real fast. That's one of the reasons I chose the MD500 fuse- it's relatively big for a 450- makes the helicopter seem much larger than it really is.

Good luck with your project and if you have any issues just post 'em here- lots of experience and willingness to help from folks 'round here.

Post pics as you go- we're always hungry for eye candy!
daniel reese is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:06 PM   #5
GRIM REAPER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 57
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

Thanks Daniel,
I appreciate the info, and the offer of help, and advice. I will post some pics as I go thru the process. Going to take my time with it. Yeah, I'm not a fan of the fish head canopies either, I think a fuse will be much easier to see, and looks allot cooler as well. Thanks again, and all the best.
GRIM REAPER is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Scale Helicopters > Electronics


Electronics Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.