Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2009, 10:28 PM   #1
beigeboy09
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada, calgary
Default blade 400 esc

Hello , my question is about the esc , it is making some tones that I have not heard before. It is not the intializing tone. I tried rebinding but it still makes the same sound.
the heli suddley spun up and the reciever was in TH on and the Throttle was off.
any ideas??
beigeboy09 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:03 AM   #2
KatanaBoi
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Hi beigeboy09,

The ESC makes a different noise if the throttle is not all the way down (usually if the throttle is at half or full stick). With other ESC's this is usually a step to enter programming mode. Also don't plug the battery in with any flight mode on (including throttle hold), wait untill the heli has initialised then switch throttle hold on, this could be why it spooled up suddenly.

Hope this helps a little,
Fletch
KatanaBoi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 08:53 AM   #3
jteee
Registered Users
 
Posts: 476
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wesley Chapel. Fl.
Default

FYI, guys, it's actually the motor that makes the tones
__________________
J.T.
2 EXI 450's, 3 HK-450 clones, 2 Blade 400s, Esky HoneyBee CP2, Eflite CX2, Eflite MCX, Eflite MSR.
Love them all.
jteee is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:23 AM   #4
beigeboy09
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada, calgary
Default

Thanks for the tips everyone, as always it has turned out to be pilot error. After putting in Hitech 65's I inadvertantly reversed the throttle in the reversing menu. However from the replies I have received I have another question. If I plug my battery in without throttle hold on, then the esc does a soft ramp even with the throttle stick at 0.So does every one run the trim on throttle to 0? Or am I missing some thing?
Quote from the manual
The throttle (left-hand) stick MUST be in the lowest possible position, with the throttle trim set in
approximately the middle position, in order for the ESC to arm. Also, the Flight Mode (F MODE)
switch must be in the “Normal” (0) position with the switch toggled toward the back of the
transmitter. The Throttle Hold (TH HOLD) switch should be set in the “Off” (0) position, however,
the ESC will still arm if the switch is set in the “On” (1) position and the “Hold” throttle curve
values are all set to 0%.

After confirming that the transmitter has been turned on and has an adequate level of battery
power (as displayed on the LCD screen at the bottom of the transmitter), and that the throttle stick
is in the lowest possible position, it is now safe to connect the flight battery to the ESC.
With battery power applied, you will hear two “beeps” once the ESC has armed properly. Use
caution as the motor, main rotor and tail rotor blades will now run with throttle stick input. For
safety, we suggest setting the Throttle Hold (TH HOLD) switch in the “On” (1) position once the
ESC has armed. This will keep the motor and rotor blades from running while you handle the
helicopter and transmitter (as long as the throttle curve values for the “Hold” flight mode are all
set to 0%, as they are from the factory).

Last edited by beigeboy09; 05-01-2009 at 02:16 PM.. Reason: added more info
beigeboy09 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:12 AM   #5
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

make sure the throttle trim is centered. did you change the 0-100 for the throttle?
alot of times if you plug the heli in with throttle hold it will spool when you turn the switch off. always turn the throttle hold on after hearing 2 beeps upon power up..
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 09:56 PM   #6
xspare
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,617
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Default

+1 on badair's throttle trim advice, and make sure to bind it like that.

Now, if I set my DX6i's HOLD THRO CURve at +10% it will match my throttle output at low-stick, according to the monitor in the menu. Then I can plug in my batt (with T/H engaged) at no risk of spooling up when I release T/H with low stick in normal mode.
__________________

xspare is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:52 PM   #7
beigeboy09
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada, calgary
Default

thanks for that!
beigeboy09 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.