START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > CAD/CAM

CAD/CAM R/C Helicopter CAD/CAM

Old 06-09-2009, 04:05 PM   #1
Farrell
Registered Users

My HF Map location
Default Sherline CNC Mill, good option for beginner?

I have been wanting to get a mill for a while now. I have no experience in that field, or in CAD/CAM however I do have experience making 3D objects with Blender and vector graphics with other software so my mind could probably wrap itself around CAD without too much effort.

I am looking into the Sherline CNC Mill, the "2000" model and the accessory package. Is this is good starting point that will see me through learning and most hobby level milling? Would that be everything I need except for a monitor, as their web site states?

Is is reasonable to expect that machine to mill foam blocks, plastic blocks, aluminum blocks and maybe carbon fiber sheets? I hear that milling CF is hard to do at low RPMs, so maybe that is out of the question for this mill.

-Farrell
Farrell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 05:10 PM   #2
Garland
Registered Users

Id step up into a taig for not much more as it is a stronger mill. You will grow out of the Sherline quickly. the sherline doesnt have the rpm or rigidity to mill CF reliably I dont think.

The taig can do all that you ask and more.

http://www.taigtools.com/
Garland is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 12:45 AM   #3
TimG13096
Registered Users

I own and sell both Sherline and Taig mills. I also manufacture upgrades for Sherline mills that will increase the capacity and rigidity to beyond what Taig offers. I also own and use a CNC Shoptask as well as a CNC Bridgeport series II and a Haas vertical machine center. Point is I am quite familiar with many machines.