Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 01:26 AM   #881
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default

Thank you. So the position mode is initialized as soon as the heli lifts off up tthe ground up too 6 feet then then the other mode takes over.
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 06:38 AM   #882
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,668
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Yes but until the heli gets up to about a foot or two it will slightly 'dance',depending on gain, in the attempt to counter the ground effect.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:02 AM   #883
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default

Thank you sir.
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 05:46 PM   #884
Madhampster
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ece31316 View Post
How was it? Is worth the price? I'm torn between flymentor and CPII...
I have not given mine a lot of usage yet. I have only run 4 packs thru it and it works well. The weather has not been great when I am off so I have to use it more. What I see now is that it works great.
Madhampster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:06 PM   #885
brushless55
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Question

Will the Futaba GY401 work good with this system on my TRex600?
thanks!
brushless55 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:40 PM   #886
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brushless55 View Post
Will the Futaba GY401 work good with this system on my TRex600?
thanks!
You would leave the GY401 connected as it is and FM would have no effect on it.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:46 PM   #887
brushless55
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
You would leave the GY401 connected as it is and FM would have no effect on it.
Ok, I'm very new to this system..
I want to fly a Cannon 5D and keep things a bit more stable..
thanks!

Last edited by brushless55; 05-17-2012 at 10:49 PM..
brushless55 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:24 AM   #888
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default Useable height for Balance Mode

I would like to know how high will the Balance mode works? Is there a height limit to it? I know that the Position mode will work up to 6 feet. Thanks
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:30 AM   #889
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,668
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

As long as it is inside the earth's gravity force envelope.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:51 AM   #890
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default Balance mode/Horizontal mode

May I ask up to what altitude would the Balance mode or horizontal mode work? I mean, for example, can I fly the heli up to 50 meters high and the Flymentor will still keep the heli horizontal/level at that altitude or do I need to fly lower ? Thank you.
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:42 PM   #891
CrazyCrash
Registered Users
 
Posts: 41
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: N/A
Default FM /w Copterx 250SE

I am going to install FM on CopterX 250SE for my son. Can I keep all cylic servos and tail servo or I have to replace all servos with digital ones. I heard some servos do not work well with FM. please advise. thanks
CrazyCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:21 PM   #892
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyCrash View Post
I am going to install FM on CopterX 250SE for my son. Can I keep all cylic servos and tail servo or I have to replace all servos with digital ones. I heard some servos do not work well with FM. please advise. thanks
There have been a few reports of servo's not being compatable but it's rare. I would not worry about it. It does not need digital servo's.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:57 PM   #893
CrazyCrash
Registered Users
 
Posts: 41
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: N/A
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
There have been a few reports of servo's not being compatable but it's rare. I would not worry about it. It does not need digital servo's.
Thanks. I pulled trigger and bought programming box too.
CrazyCrash is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:39 AM   #894
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default Problem with Flymentor

I had the Flymentor installed on my Belt CP V2 (450 size heli) by the shop which sells the Flymentor. I noticed on the first flight with it that the heli was going up and down like a yo-yo and I had to use the elevator/throttle stick to try to stabilize it. I was flying at about 4-5 feet from the ground. Is this an issue with the Flymentor or the heli itself? Many thanks for your suggestions
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 09:49 AM   #895
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,668
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Definitely not a known issue with FM, run it on two helis 400 & 600. Depending on what TX you are using you may want to look at your Throttle and more importantly pitch curves.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:23 AM   #896
kittiwat1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Default

HTML Code:
Definitely not a known issue with FM, run it on two helis 400 & 600. Depending on what TX you are using you may want to look at your Throttle and more importantly pitch curves.__________________
</DIV>Thank you, I can then rule out the FM issue. Anyway, I am buying KDS 550 and will tranfer the FM to this new heli. Hopefully, it would work out fine.
kittiwat1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 12:50 PM   #897
giorgosmessa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: greece
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robl View Post
what does this mean? have you actually tried it?
hi all i have big problem with my flymentor
i connect all as the manual says but i have 4 red blinks
pls help me
giorgosmessa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:42 PM   #898
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,668
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giorgosmessa View Post
hi all i have big problem with my flymentor
i connect all as the manual says but i have 4 red blinks
pls help me
Are you plugged in to the RX and does it have power. More importantly are all the plugs in the right way. Is FM controller getting hot?
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 08:53 AM   #899
salience
Registered Users
 
Posts: 305
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France - Alpes-Maritimes
Default Thin

Quote:
Originally Posted by pril250 View Post
As long as it is inside the earth's gravity force envelope.
I believe the air gets a bit thin for lift at the top of that range ;>)

Just finished installing a FM in a 500 Trex clone, much thanks to those who have contributed so many important setup details here. It's a flybarred but torque tubed HK500 with no mechanical "upgrades" as yet - I'll await some glitches to decide what to replace with a genuine Align or maybe Tarot part.

Getting ready for the first tests, but perhaps someone could suggest a throttle curve and pitch curve that would be appropriate for first trials by someone more interested to fly slowly and surely, rather than wild and wooly.

The FM programming box is a worthwhile item, imhp, maybe slightly confusing if you haven't done settings first with HeliBal. But post-HB, you already know all the settings so the box is straightforward and doesn't require awaiting the old laptop's lengthy bootup.
salience is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com