Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
slcrcflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Utah
Default Pro torque tube on an SE

Hey all has ayone tried installing the torque tube from the new pro kit on an older SE kit? I want to do it but I'm afraid the mod will change the length of the boom
slcrcflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:22 PM   #2
seanh
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,766
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston
Default

I've heard of it being done on the v2 450's. I don't know of the standard v1. Boom length? would it matter?
__________________
X-cell Fury 90: 601/9251, 8231's Cyc; DS650; OS 91MP-6; Jr Vibe 90; OS 91RJX Pipe; Jr 8231 cyclic, 770 3D/G8900, Prfct Reg. CCPM; T-Rex 600 NP: 6965HB, 425MG Throttle GY 520/9254; OS50 Hyper,MP-5, Prfct Reg; 600E Bstx, nue1910
seanh is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
TomRex
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,282
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: WPB Florida
Default

The SE V3 tail boom mount is drilled different than the Pro's bolt pattern also, I think the gears and boom are the same possibly. I saw different mounts listed lately.
__________________
How much past 200 mph do I need to go you ask?
TomRex is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:54 PM   #4
Winfred
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,024
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Default

The pro TT is a bit different. Why not go for the V3 TT upgrade. It's made for the 450 S/GF/SE/SEV2. Do not confuse the Pro with V3. The term V3 is used for the latest option parts for the V2.

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product...oducts_id=2726
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Winfred is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 07:28 PM   #5
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,396
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomRex View Post
The SE V3 tail boom mount is drilled different than the Pro's bolt pattern also, I think the gears and boom are the same possibly. I saw different mounts listed lately.
Correct, the boom blocks are all different between the V3 TT upgrade, Sport, and Pro. Aside from that, the only difference between the parts of the V3 TT upgrade and the Pro, is the drive gear.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:46 PM   #6
slcrcflyer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Utah
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfred View Post
The pro TT is a bit different. Why not go for the V3 TT upgrade. It's made for the 450 S/GF/SE/SEV2. Do not confuse the Pro with V3. The term V3 is used for the latest option parts for the V2.

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product...oducts_id=2726
oh?? I didn't know there was an upgrade for the V1 I thought people were just using the V2 torque tube
slcrcflyer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 02:45 PM   #7
RyuuChi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 982
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: eastern PA
Default

nah, technically its called the v3 tt upgrade. i know for a fact that that upgrade kit will fit the se as well as the v2 and the sport. also, the booms are the same length. the difference between the pro and the v3 tt is the boom block, counter gear/input shaft and color of the tail case that comes with the kit. when you're looking for parts for this, all of the pro TT parts and booms are the same, but you just have to make sure you get the V3 counter gear/input shaft guy. also, when doing this kit, you should have your elevator(rear) servo on the outside of the frame and sometimes shave the servo horn, otherwise the horn will contact the pyramid gear and cause binding.


on the whole, it's an awesome upgrade, you'll get nearly a full minute more of flight time out of it, as well as consistent sharper tail control. i love mine.
__________________
Thank god i have snowboarding to keep me occupied when its too cold to fly!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RyuuChi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:46 PM   #8
johnnychimpo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 578
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Killeen, TX
Default

Do you have to use the boom in the kit or can you use a carbon boom with the upgrade?
__________________
Trex 450Sport, AH64D Longbow Apache
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

AMA 470413
NMPRA 26Q
johnnychimpo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 05:58 PM   #9
Winfred
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,024
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnychimpo View Post
Do you have to use the boom in the kit or can you use a carbon boom with the upgrade?
http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?...orque+tube+mod
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Winfred is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 450 Class Electric Helicopters


450 Class Electric Helicopters 450 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com