Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 08:15 PM   #1
SycoCell121
Registered Users
 
Posts: 899
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default Align 2 in 1 Voltage Reg Setup Question

Hey guys. Quick thing. I'm connecting my 2 in 1 to my heli. What is important is that I want to keep my On/Off switch (The usual generic one) that I have built into my heli that I have in use versus using the little tiny on one the 2 in 1 reg. To do so, can I just connect the connector that WOULD connect to the battery port on my RX and just connect that to the Battery plug that is connected to my On/Off switch that THEN runs to the RX? Hopefully this makes sense..I assume that on/off switch can handle 7.4v without an issue since there really isn't anything to it.

Currently there are 3 plugs off of my On/Off. One to the charge port. One to the RX. And one to the battery. Basically all I want to do is bypass the battery one and connect my regulator to that.

Any ideas????
__________________
T-Rex 700 Nitro Limited Edition FBL - OS 91 HZ, Funtech B301 Pipe, AR 7100R, BeastX 3.0, Savox 1258 Cyclic, Savox 1290 Tail, Align DS 620 Throttle, Switchglow Pro, JR 9503
SycoCell121 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:31 PM   #2
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,759
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Need more info.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 03:56 AM   #3
tony stevens
Registered Users
 
Posts: 458
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: congleton cheshire uk
Default

Why make things complicated the on/off switch on the 2-1 works just fine and makes for a tidier installation.
or am i missing the point,is there a reason you want to use the switch harness?
tony stevens is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 07:22 AM   #4
sp1nner
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

If I understand you correctly you have read posts with horror stories detailing the 2 in 1 switch failing thus causing a major crash. There are posts on here somewhere that mention soldering the 2 in 1 switch so it is permanently on and use a switch harness as you describe (this eliminateds the switch failing). I have recently installed the 2 in 1 and have opted to use the 2 in 1 switch, and will just ensure I keep it clean and well maintained.

I am sorry I cannot offer any info on the mod but as I say there are posts on here somewhere.

Cheers.
sp1nner is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 07:39 AM   #5
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,759
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Been using 2 in 1 switch forever no problems what so ever.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 11:56 PM   #6
3DBEAM
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia / Sunshine Coast
Default

don,t rely on that tiny micro sized on / off switch for too long . it will wear out quickly , so what you must do is either leave in switched to the ON position and add abit of silicon over the switch to seal it , then add another good quality type on / off switch . the way i did mine was i cut the black power wire from the main regulator to battery and soldered this to the new switch , works perfect and its reliable.
__________________
Ely-Q Field Rep.
Gaui X5 Field Rep.
RJX Xtreme Helis
Beam 450 pro
3DBEAM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:18 PM   #7
SycoCell121
Registered Users
 
Posts: 899
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I ended up returning the 2 in 1 and buying an MPI regulator. It was 20 bucks. Doesn't have the ignitor, but that's useless to me. I have it dialed in perfectly running directly to my main On/Off switch in the heli. The nice thing about the MPI reg is that I can connect BOTH my battery output wires to the regulator incase one connector decides to fail or what not. It's a good redundancy.
__________________
T-Rex 700 Nitro Limited Edition FBL - OS 91 HZ, Funtech B301 Pipe, AR 7100R, BeastX 3.0, Savox 1258 Cyclic, Savox 1290 Tail, Align DS 620 Throttle, Switchglow Pro, JR 9503
SycoCell121 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Nitro Helicopters


600 Class Nitro Helicopters 600 Class Nitro Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com