Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2010, 07:37 PM   #1
Ice93
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Default Swash leveler still needed for FBL??

Just bit the bullet and got myself a 600 3G Kit yesterday for my T-Rex 600. (My 1st FBL kit, so a bit of a noob here)

I noticed that during setup (DIR) all subtrims and endpoints need to be at 0 and 100/100 respectively.

In my previous flybar setup up, I have been using a swash leveler to get my swash level before adjusting anything. Question is, do I still need to use a swash leveler on the FBL?

From what I can see, my swash is not fully level at midstick and it gets even worse on high and low stick.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated and thank in advance!!
Ice93 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:40 PM   #2
Bob O
HF Support
 
Posts: 27,992
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Default

That's a good question. I'm looking forward to hearing an answer.
__________________
):> Team HeliFreak
SPARTANRC - R&D Team
GAUI X4II - VX1e -
OmG servos
Futaba 14SG
Bob O is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 08:16 PM   #3
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,225
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

since the FBL unit is correcting on the fly (pardon the pun) I am thinking swash leveling is pretty much a thing of the past??? I did it anyway since the Mikado allows it.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 08:51 PM   #4
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

yeah I think it's no longer needed as well.

The FBL system will correct the heli based on which way the heli is moving. It doesn't care where the swash is. It will tilt the swash until it senses the heli stopped drifting. That's the beauty of it.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:02 PM   #5
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 40,225
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Plus with autotuning (again Mikado does that not sure what others do) basically tunes out mechanical imperfections.. and also the optimizers etc.. I assume they all do this sort of thing.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX servos / 4010Duo / Deep cycles
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:34 PM   #6
Ice93
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Default

Thanks for all the quick reply guys!!! Wow thats good to hear...really make setting up easier then!!

I'm starting to love flybarless!!!
Ice93 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:40 AM   #7
Big Fil
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,655
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Default

Good mechanical setup is still beneficial to any FBL system. The less the system has to do compensate for mechanical deficiencies the better.
__________________
Mikado Model Helicopters
Edge Blades

Big Fil is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:27 AM   #8
OICU812
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,796
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edson, Alberta, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Fil View Post
Good mechanical setup is still beneficial to any FBL system. The less the system has to do compensate for mechanical deficiencies the better.

+1, IF there is a setup mode in Aligns FBL where it forces servos to 90, you should then utilize a swash leveller and get the swash dead level indeed.
__________________
...Once upon a time there were Nitros, flybars & frequency pins...Shawn
Mikado Heli
Scorpion Motors
Western Robotics RC,
Youth Generation Electronics

OICU812 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 02:39 AM   #9
Edvard R
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,147
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Taiwan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OICU812 View Post
+1, IF there is a setup mode in Aligns FBL where it forces servos to 90, you should then utilize a swash leveller and get the swash dead level indeed.
This is indeed the case. In the first phase of the setup, everything is adjusted to 0 pitch and everything level. A swash leveler is as useful for FBL as it is for a fly bar heli.
Edvard R is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 03:53 AM   #10
Ice93
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edvard R View Post
This is indeed the case. In the first phase of the setup, everything is adjusted to 0 pitch and everything level. A swash leveler is as useful for FBL as it is for a fly bar heli.
If that is the case do I:

1. Go into 1st phase setup (dir) level the swash at mid stick, high & low stick
2. Go thru the rest of the setup procedures

OR

1. Switch on the heli, let everything initialize, level the swash at low, mid and high stick
2. Turn the heli OFF
3. Turn the heli ON, go into setup and carry on with the rest of the procedures
Ice93 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 05:32 AM   #11
erwinseow
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Default

Hello my friend!

Swash levelling has to be done in setup mode.
erwinseow is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:30 AM   #12
rickn816
Registered Users
 
Posts: 953
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta Suburbs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice93 View Post
Question is, do I still need to use a swash leveler on the FBL?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated and thank in advance!!
Yes. Absolutely. You want the same "square" setup that you would use for a mechanical system.

Rick
rickn816 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 07:30 PM   #13
Ice93
Registered Users
 
Posts: 129
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Default

Here's what I've tried so far:-

1. Went into setup mode(DIR)
2. Leveled the swash for low/mid/high stick
3. Completed the rest of the setup procedures

I found that after I completed the setup and rebooted the fbl system, the swash is no longer level. It's as if, all my endpoints setting just disappeared.

Hence, I tried the following:

1. Powered up the heli
2. Leveled the swash in low/mid/high
3. Go into setup mode and completed all setup procedures

This time, after rebooting the FBL system, the swash stayed level in low/mid/high stick. Hope this would work. I haven't flown the 3G yet, gonna maiden her tomorrow so I hope I've gotten everything right.
Ice93 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #14
HiroboFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Default

It specifically states in the manual to NOT adjust individual servo endpoints.
Steps 4 & 5, Pages 9 & 10.

The way I read it is to level swash at 0* , leave cyclic endpoints at default (100/100), carry out FBL setup procedure. Go fly.

If your servo geometry is close to correct, the FBL gyros will have minimal work to do.
This is how I will be doing mine anyway.
__________________
T-rex 700n VBar 5.3 Pro | T-rex 700e V3 VBar 5.3 Pro | JR DSX9 Limited
Team RCBits | Team Lynx

Last edited by HiroboFreak; 01-21-2010 at 09:35 PM.. Reason: Added page numbers.
HiroboFreak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:21 PM   #15
dveloza
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Hi Guys,
If I put the subtrims at 0 the servo arms wont be at 90%. No matter how many times I tried to adjust the arms mechanically (Align arms) the wont be 90% therefore the swashplate wont be straight. What should I do?
dveloza is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:38 PM   #16
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

adjust the subtrim on your transmitter until all servos horns are perfectly horizontal. Then go through the flybarless setup process.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:22 AM   #17
thayghetucsb
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: home town
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steph280 View Post
adjust the subtrim on your transmitter until all servos horns are perfectly horizontal. Then go through the flybarless setup process.
should i use subtrim to level swash at midstick as i usually do with the flybar set up? also should i just ignore the part of leveling swashplate at low and high throttle. I guess the latter is only applicable to fly bar set up.
thayghetucsb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:08 AM   #18
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

Yes you move your pitch to midstick 0 pitch, adjust subtrim to level out the swash. Don't worry about swash interactions on top and bottom as 3G system will compensate in flight.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:05 PM   #19
JesusFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,842
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Default

I try to get my swash dead center, but find I'm often off a bit one way or the other. I've just adjusted my Pitch curves accordingly. Also, I find I need a bit more negative pitch then positive, in general. Will adjusting the pitch range this way effect how these FBL units setup?

FWIW, I've never used end point adjustments to adjust my pitch, I thought this was a no-no for some reason. I always set the maximum throughs with the swash mix settings and then adjust my pitch curves to further fine tune. Is this a good approach?
__________________
"Keep it pithy."
eAurora, TREX600E, TREX 600 HFEX, TREX500, Vibe 50
(Professional grade pretzel maker).
JesusFreak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:52 PM   #20
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

I think you are fine. As long as you are at 0 degrees pitch when you press that SET button to exit the DIR mode, it will remember the servo positions as the neutral point.

Yup you are doing it the "proper" way. End points should be done with swash mix settings, not ATV.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.