Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 01:35 PM   #1
hawkins221
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,093
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: amsterdam
Exclamation lipos will not fully charge?

how to balance 1 cell at a time? i have 2x4s 4000mah that i use as 8s for my logo500
the cells are like so 4,16 4,16 4,16 4,18 4,16 4,18 4,19,4,20
and i,ts dropped to 0,1A charging power, i have set it to charge at 3.0A
its been charging for hours and will not finish it off? why?
can i do one cell at a time?
i use a g,t,power charger from hobbycity
any help would be great guys
hawkins221 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:36 PM   #2
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 38,692
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

I suggest you have a little blinky balancer on hand. You hook them up and it brings all cells DOWN to the lowest cell. Then charge back up with charger.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete Team Outrage.
Goblin 500 + 700 / O550 / Blade 130x + MCPX BL / SK540 / Jive / DX8 / Quantum / RJX / 4010Duo
Slyster is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:11 AM   #3
Michaelinpr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,783
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puerto Rico (but i am from Canada)
Default

Thanks Slyster. I tried that on a 11.1V lipo. I could leave the thing for hours with out it balancing. Worked like a charm.
Michaelinpr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:44 AM   #4
RocketSled
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,579
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Default

Some chargers limit how "hard" they will work to reach balance if the temperature is too low. I sometimes have trouble getting a full charge on my batteries using my FMA charger because I leave it in the unheated garage.
__________________
Fly in the street hangar includes:
T-Rex 450SEV2, 250SE (MD500), Blade 400, SR & mSR & 120SR & mCPx & mCX & CX2, Walkera 4G6S & SeaCobra
Parkzone Sukhoi (& XP), Centurion, Mustang (Micro and BL versions), µBeast, Mosquito
RocketSled is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:52 AM   #5
Teej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Default

You have one cell that is at its max safe charge - 4.2.

Thus the charger is limiting the current to .1 A because the balancer has to keep bleeding off of the high cell to allow the weaker cells to catch up.

If it were to be run at 3A right now, one of two things would happen - either the balancer would burn out from being forced to drain off too much current....or the high cell would exceed 4.2v.

The link to the manual is broken or I would have checked for you...but look and see if there's an option to run the balance mode without it actually charging. If there is...start the balance mode and just let it run. When it finishes, then you can top up the charge.

If it can't be set to balance without charging then either

A: Take the other suggestion and get an external balancer

B: Go out now and fly about half the time you normally would...then put it back on the charger/balancer at a lower starting current (maybe 1A)

C: Just let it run another hour or two and then check the voltages again if it hasn't finished. It should finish. You have at worst a .04 difference. That's not too bad.
Teej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:15 PM   #6
hawkins221
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,093
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: amsterdam
Default

hi guys think it,s fixed now
i took my lipos to work with my and did them one by one on the trusty old blinky balancer, now at home and heard my charger beep that it has fully charged my lipos
yehhhhhhh! thanks mega big amounts, blinky rules!!!!
hawkins221 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:07 PM   #7
hawkins221
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,093
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: amsterdam
Default

[QUOTE=Teej;1792118]

A: Take the other suggestion and get an external balancer

QUOTE]
how about my blinky? i can set my charger for
charge+balance
or just charge and no balance
so if i use charge no balance can i stick my blinky in there?
hawkins221 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:18 PM   #8
Teej
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Absolutely. The blinky is what I referred to as "the other suggestion".

I'm personally not familiar with the blinky - my only charger & balancer are TP 1010 & 210.
Teej is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:21 PM   #9
hawkins221
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,093
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: amsterdam
Default

thanks glad my lipos are o,k and not duds
anyhows you rock thanks more mega much dude.
hawkins221 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com