Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 08:43 PM   #1
ForceFedDSM
Registered Users
 
Posts: 810
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default Can I use a spartan quark instead of the included gyro with the 3g?

I was wondering if I could use a spartan quark with the align flybarless system instead of the included gyro? It looks like align uses a proprietary plug on the gyro to main unit

Jared
ForceFedDSM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:45 PM   #2
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,296
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I am no expert on the align 3G but i would assume you just dont send the rudder signal from the rx to the 3G but treat it like you normally would.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:46 PM   #3
hurricane.br
Registered Users
 
Posts: 309
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Default

That would defeat the point of it beeing a 3 axis unit, but you can always plug the spartan directly to the receiver and just plug the cyclic servos to and signals to the 3g.
hurricane.br is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:53 PM   #4
T6driver
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Default

The "gyro" unit is the sensor for pitch, roll, and yaw, not just yaw, hence the special connector to the control unit.
T6driver is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:57 PM   #5
ForceFedDSM
Registered Users
 
Posts: 810
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

I'll just leave it alone and put the quark in one of my other helis, thanks.
ForceFedDSM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:02 PM   #6
steph280
Registered Users
 
Posts: 541
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Default

The control box actually uses standard servo connectors in and out. Only the connector to gyro sensor is proprietary.

So in theory you can just plug your spartan directly into your receiver, and leave the 3G's rudder conenctors lose. In fact I think Alan Szabo Jr mentioned this somewhere.
steph280 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:43 PM   #7
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,405
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Based on my experience so far, I would venture to say the software makes no effort to integrate the tail gyro with the cyclic. In other words there is no torque precompensation or piro optimization. The main advantage is you only have a single system on the heli.

My fingers are crossed for Align to evolve the system and inegrate the tail control with the cyclic routines.

So if you think the Quark is a better gyro then an Align 780 then there would be some advantages to installing it on your helicopter.
__________________
HeliDirect
Zeal Blades

MSH USA
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:23 AM   #8
BobbySmith
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForceFedDSM View Post
I was wondering if I could use a spartan quark with the align flybarless system instead of the included gyro? It looks like align uses a proprietary plug on the gyro to main unit

Jared
Yes you can . All though the stock tail gyro works prettygood.

The way the 3G is built the tail is on a seperate bec so you dont have to use it.
BobbySmith is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:05 PM   #9
turkana
Registered Users
 
Posts: 75
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Default

Yes you can. Alan Szabo himself said its no problem to use your own prefered Gyro. Wich makes it even more intresting!
turkana is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:17 PM   #10
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,405
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Well, I see this option as a negative. Align really needs to take advantage of the fact that they have 3 gyros in 1 box. The tail is truly independent in the system, right now.
__________________
HeliDirect
Zeal Blades

MSH USA
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 11:02 PM   #11
James Kovach
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: us
Default

It is only a negative if you feel you NEED piro compensation. Being that a Flybar helis tail and cyclic are not tied together, I do not see that as a NEED. Is it nice. Sure, just means you do not have to fly your tail.
__________________
- James -
www.RCTodayShow.com Host
James Kovach is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 01:51 AM   #12
OnTheSnap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,405
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Clara, Ca
Default

Very true James. My wife says i don't _need_ heli's either. It's hard to know where to draw the line!
__________________
HeliDirect
Zeal Blades

MSH USA
OnTheSnap is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 05:37 AM   #13
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Quote:
It is only a negative if you feel you NEED piro compensation. Being that a Flybar helis tail and cyclic are not tied together, I do not see that as a NEED. Is it nice. Sure, just means you do not have to fly your tail.
You dont get it, with Flybar you dont need piro compensation since the Flybar will keep the heli in line, i.e. Flybar is the same as FBL with piro compensation.

So without it, it will fly WORSE then a Flybar setup, Just fly FFF and start to Piro with the Align 3G, it will go into Wall of death by it self.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:16 AM   #14
Raydee
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,689
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Just fly FFF and start to Piro with the Align 3G, it will go into Wall of death by it self.
Just want to make sure I am reading this right? You are saying with the 3G system you can't do FFF and piro or it will go crazy?
__________________
Align Trex 700 V3 DFC HV Vbar Pro
Align Trex 500 EFL Pro Mini Vbar Pro
Outrage Fusion 50 6s Vbar Pro
Raydee is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:24 AM   #15
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Nope, that's why its important to get that piro optimization.

With paddles you get a gyroscopic effect, just as if you swing a bucket of water, if you swing at an angle, and you start spinning, the bucket want to keep the same angle.

Without the paddles, the electronic has to support that instead.

Here is a good video from AC3X team that shows the difference.
http://www.rcmovie.de/video/0c80c08b...e-compensation
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:55 AM   #16
JesusFreak
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,843
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Nope, that's why its important to get that piro optimization.

With paddles you get a gyroscopic effect, just as if you swing a bucket of water, if you swing at an angle, and you start spinning, the bucket want to keep the same angle.

Without the paddles, the electronic has to support that instead.

Here is a good video from AC3X team that shows the difference.
http://www.rcmovie.de/video/0c80c08b...e-compensation
MrMel:

I respect your technical expertise greatly. I'm not a full "3D" flyer, mostly sport flying. One think I do like to do is spin my heli around in fast forward flight. Have you flown the Align system to observe this behavior you describe.

Would any of you with this system be willing to give these types of maneuvers a shot on video so we can see how the Align system actually responds?

Thanks for the input. This is all very interesting.
__________________
"Keep it pithy."
eAurora, TREX600E, TREX 600 HFEX, TREX500, Vibe 50
(Professional grade pretzel maker).
JesusFreak is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:28 AM   #17
Funky242
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgium
Default

Honestly, FL760 + Spartan + Rx = more expensive than a V-Stabi, which is still the reference...V-Stabi performs better (or at least as well) as a Spartan, so why going for a super complicated setup of FBL system + tailgyro, if you can have it all in one unit and do everything in one setup procedure...
__________________
Logo600 V-Stabi- BLS252/251 - Jive 80+HV - Scorp 4035-500 (12S)
Prōtos 500 - Microbeast - Sävox DS1250MG/MKS DS8910 - Jazz 80 - Scorp/MSH 3026-880
Funky242 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:33 PM   #18
nexgen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,422
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brainerd, MN
Default

I think this is what were talking about here. here is a vid of my 2 axis fbl and a separate tail gyro. e.g. no piro comp or tail integration. I just banged the stick over and did not do anything with the cyclic, this is what happened. since then, I have learned how to piro with this unit and keep it upright. now this is on a SMALL heli (gaui 200) and the fbl unit is not as good as aligns, but this can be an extreme example of proof of concept of why tail integration is a good thing on fbl units. If im not mistaken I hear that some SK360 guys also complain about nuances in piro moves on their units as well.

__________________
GAUI Field RepbeastXTeam Empire Hobby
Gaui 200 •Gaui 550 •Gaui X5
BeastX Castle Scorpion Hyperion Spektrum JR
RC Heli Nation Podcast
The Front Porch, Nexgens Lounge
nexgen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:18 PM   #19
JustPlaneChris
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,595
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Nope, that's why its important to get that piro optimization.
I can be in full FFF and piro my Protos (Skookum SK360) and it doesn't go into a "wall of death" or anything else radical and crazy. It just piros, and it keeps on moving just as well as (or better than) when it had a flybar.
__________________
Chris Boultinghouse
www.rctodayshow.com
Team MSH USA
JustPlaneChris is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 01:43 AM   #20
MrMel
V-BAR Guru
 
Posts: 13,571
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lidingo/Stockholm, Sweden
Default

Quote:
I can be in full FFF and piro my Protos (Skookum SK360) and it doesn't go into a "wall of death" or anything else radical and crazy. It just piros, and it keeps on moving just as well as (or better than) when it had a flybar.
Let me guess, you level the heli just before you piro, i.e. its not at an angle?
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.