Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 07:02 PM   #1
vanguy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Default 1 cell is around 1 volt

I have a tunigy 6S 2650 mAh and my balance charger is showing that one of the cell is 1.5 volt and my charger would not let me charge the battery. Any solutions?
vanguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:03 PM   #2
Philie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa
Default

What charger do you have?
Philie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:05 PM   #3
vanguy
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Default

A thunder AC6
vanguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:10 PM   #4
airjawed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,357
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cliffside Park NJ
Default

Need more info... was the battery sitting stored? What are the other cells at? Need more battery history and info.
__________________
Trex 450 Pro 3xDS410M + MKS8910A+, Align FBL head w/Microbeast, CC 45 Gov@ 3400rpm(max timing, outrunner mode), Scorpion 2221-8 on 14t, Edge FBL main and tail, CF boom, CC BEC @ 6V
airjawed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:14 PM   #5
Michaelinpr
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,950
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Puerto Rico (but i am from Canada)
Default

I dont know if this will help but in a couple other threads people couldnt charge due to imbalance. Solution was to use a blinky charger. After that is done the battery seems to charge fine. Worked for me and a couple others.
Michaelinpr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:15 PM   #6
Philie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa
Default

Yes more info with the pack?

and if that's the only unit you have for lipo use I have a solution that MAY work to help save the pack.

BUT NOT if its a old pack
Philie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:18 PM   #7
vanguy
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA
Default

No, it was a new battery that I got from hobbycity. It came with two cell lower than the other 4. I was able to get the 2 cells charged up to 3.86V but it seems to be stuck at that level. I decided to try out the battery today on my 500 and it flew my bird but not as long as the 2 similar battery that I got. When I went to charge the battery, one of the cell is now at 1.5ish V and the charger would not let me charge in either balance or regular mode. I remeber somebody saying to charge it in the NiCad mode but keep an eye on it.
vanguy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:09 PM   #8
meatbob
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,488
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Windham, NH
Default

Make sure that you check the voltage across the red/black primary wires, and that it matches the sum of all of the cells. Sometimes, the balancing connectors can read low if they are not making a good contact. I've had this happen - the cells might be okay, but the balancing plug might be marginal.
__________________
Logo 500 SK720, 4025-890, CC ICE 100
T-Rex 600 ESP w/3G - 12S, 4025-630, CC ICE 80HV
Blade 400 w/ HS5065MG, CopterX FBL, ICE Lite 50
eRaptor Conversion, 12S, 4035-500, JR 8700g, 3xDS610s
meatbob is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:33 PM   #9
dwesnor
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

It's a $35 pack that could catch fire on the charger. I'd check the total voltage and if it wasn't right, I'd ditch it.
__________________
T-Rex 500 :: 450 Pro :: T-Rex 250 (a duex) :: Rave 450, 4S, 350mm & SK720
dwesnor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:51 PM   #10
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 39,261
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

Just balance charge.. it will take a LONG time... monitor that no one cell goes over 4.20.... then when it stops (or one cell goes over) discharge to storage mode. Cycle like this a few times. Its very common that one cell comes really low.. I read about it fairly often.. in the end they always post back "its fine now!"
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / Blade 130x + MCPX BL / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX / 4010Duo
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 10:56 PM   #11
nyc863
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,368
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2009
Location: sydney
Default

if the other cells are not 4.2 then non balance charge it, without balance port, but just for 10 minutes then check the bad cell. it may come up fast then you can balance charge it.
but if it is really 1v then it probably is going to fail to deliver later and the pack might fall to lvc quick.
you know hobbyking have a 30 day return policy for bad packs?

it might also be a bad soldering job.. wiggle the balance lead see if the voltage changes?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- check out my fleet get your fleet online
nyc863 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 11:26 PM   #12
Philie
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa
Default ++1

nyc863 &slyster Have said the methods I was going recommend. I have got a couple packs from HC that have arrived with one cell way low before and the methods mentioned fix the packs so far every time for me. But if it was a old pack or on you got used or even after a crash ...Just Trash it not worth it. IMO

Philie
Philie is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 02:38 AM   #13
hommer75
Registered Users
 
Posts: 222
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Meppel, Netherlands
Default

I've had a 3200 pack from HC do the same; one cell went down to 1.2V while the others were at 3.9V. My charger (Hyperion 0610i) wouldn't charge it. I set my charger to NiCd and let it charge 0.5A. After about 20 mins the cell had come up to 2.8V and the charger accepted it again. I've never had any problems with the pack after that, it performs just as all the others.... strange things.

I sat next to it while charging as NiCd since this is not the way to go!
__________________
"There are 10 kinds of people... Those who understand binary, and those who don't."
Hurricane 550 - Trex450 | Mx16S
hommer75 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 03:33 AM   #14
Globs
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cambridge, UK
Default

I also had a low cell on a Turnigy and the balancer would not balance it, so I cycled the cell as a single cell 1S battery via an adapter I fitted to the balance port, it worked fine after that.

I think therefore some lipo pack cells need 'waking up' or birth assistance. Just do whatever it takes to get them all at 4.2V before you fly the pack.
__________________
Radios: DX7, RD6000(
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Electric: Cypher 3D, Skya 250se, CX450ae/Hughes 500D,
Century Bell 47II (Hawk), w Z30a
Nitro: Hirobo Shuttle Plus, 450se Flasher, Walkera 4#3b.
Globs is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com