Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2010, 12:22 PM   #1
RexyRicky
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southampton
Default DX6i range check

went to range check this afternoon, and when I walk away from my model, the rotor disc spins up, after about twenty paces.
I have no issues in flight, and I tend to fly it away from me pretty far, far enough to have trouble with telling the orientation. Am I missing something, or is control supposed to drop out at this range?
thanks
Richard
RexyRicky is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
T/CHunter2009
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,404
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Trumansburg New York
Default

Face heli when doing range check. Walk backwards. the motor should not spin up. You should only lose responce to cyclic.
__________________
Changing direction in my R/C Hobby : Getting into FPV Quad Copters. TBS Discovery
T/CHunter2009 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 12:35 PM   #3
Sky1trek
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Default

The radio is classed as full range. It should provide control beyond where you can see the heli which of course is way more than anyone needs. But the DX6i isn't an upper end radio and I've found when the voltage gets below 5.2 on the tx mine will have delayed control. Probably cheap capacitors. Although I would prefer not to, I charge mine before every flying day and never have that issue anymore.

As to the rotor spinning up, never heard of that except if the rx isn't bound correctly with the fail safe settings. Any loss of signal should cause zero throttle.
__________________
| Blade 400 | Trex 500 Landing Gear | HXT900 | HGD 201HB
| Blade CX2 | Sim - G4 |
|500 ESP - under construction|
Sky1trek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
xspare
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,615
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Default

My understanding is that the "fail safe" settings are determined based on the channel settings that were active when you bound your receiver to your transmitter. So, the rotor could potentially spool up if you lost the link and had somehow managed to bind your receiver to the transmitter while the throttle was not in a fail-safe position.

I'd recommend a rebind with a safe throttle setting, and then try to repeat your experiment.
__________________

xspare is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 10:12 PM   #5
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

the throttle is always driven to 0 during a brownout or "failsafe condition.
only the 7100r, 921 and 6110e controls other surfaces during a null, fade, or other cndition
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 02:22 AM   #6
meatbob
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,488
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Windham, NH
Default

The AR6100e is not a full-range receiver. The gain on the antennas are also degraded if they are bent when doing the range check. You should always bind the receiver with the throttle stick down.
__________________
Logo 500 SK720, 4025-890, CC ICE 100
T-Rex 600 ESP w/3G - 12S, 4025-630, CC ICE 80HV
Blade 400 w/ HS5065MG, CopterX FBL, ICE Lite 50
eRaptor Conversion, 12S, 4035-500, JR 8700g, 3xDS610s
meatbob is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 10:30 AM   #7
xspare
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,615
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Default

In regard to the AR6100(E) I'm assuming is in this heli, the manual says:
  • After the system makes a connection, if loss of signal occurs, SmartSafe drives the throttle servo only to its preset failsafe position (low throttle) that was set during binding.
  • All other channels hold their last commanded position. When the signal is regained, the system immediately (less than 4ms) regains control.

and recommends that operator do the following when binding:
3. Move the sticks and switches on the transmitter to the desired failsafe positions (low throttle and neutral control positions).
My read is that you can inadvertently bind an AR6100(E) at any (potentially unsafe) throttle setting unless you pay attention and take care in the process. I had a bit of an issue with a plank one time when turning the transmitter off before removing the flight battery .
__________________

xspare is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:32 PM   #8
RexyRicky
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southampton
Default

What is meant by a "full range" receiver, and is that opposed to a "park flier", what are the differences?

I re-setup my heli, re-centred and re-limited the tail, adjusted the gain in tx and re-bound. I re-did the range check, and got a successful 35paces from the heli with no issue, great, even when the signal did drop out in the next few paces the disc did not spin up.

However, did another range check today and only got 26 paces before the signal quit. So was a bit dissapointed with that, I assume its circumstantial to the conditions/location, since I never have a signal issue whilst flying, so I'm hoping I can continue as normal.
Thanks everyone for the input.
Richard
RexyRicky is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 03:32 PM   #9
1BADAIR
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,561
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oxford, Mi
Default

i dont think mine has ever passed a range check at the distance the say
A full range RX usually has a satellite too. some like the carbon RX doesnt though
6100 and 6110 are park flyers
__________________
Compass 7HVU HBL980/950 Ar7200bx Edge160-- Compass 6HV, 610/650
TRex 700LE , Beastx 610/650, Warp360 TracX 92A+
1BADAIR is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 05:34 PM   #10
RexyRicky
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southampton
Default

what is "full range?
what is "park flyer"?
RexyRicky is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:13 PM   #11
totsandman
Registered Users
 
Posts: 504
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Blade 400 T-rex 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xspare View Post
My understanding is that the "fail safe" settings are determined based on the channel settings that were active when you bound your receiver to your transmitter. So, the rotor could potentially spool up if you lost the link and had somehow managed to bind your receiver to the transmitter while the throttle was not in a fail-safe position.

I'd recommend a rebind with a safe throttle setting, and then try to repeat your experiment.
xspare is correct .

I had the same thing happen to me a Loooooong time ago when I first got the B400.

I was doing a range check and got to about twenty/twenty-five feet when a buddy said something to me and when I turned around to see what he wanted the heli started to spool up . I had to run back towards the heli about ten feet before the RX picked the TX up again and I was then able to throttle her down.

All I had to do to fix the problem was rebind the heli with the correct Fail-safe settings and it's never happened again.


'
__________________
Blade400 Scorpion 2221-8, JR 285MG ,Spartan DS760 Jr3400G ,CC35 ESC ,CC10amp BEC
T-rex 500 Hitec 5245MG .JR g770 3D Futaba S9254 .Medusa 1600kv, KDE upgrades, Spartan DS760
totsandman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:05 PM   #12
T/CHunter2009
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,404
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Trumansburg New York
Default

I know I can fly mine out far enough to loose orientation , It gets samll fast. 300 yard or more is easy. By then its a dot in the sky.
__________________
Changing direction in my R/C Hobby : Getting into FPV Quad Copters. TBS Discovery
T/CHunter2009 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 400


Blade 400 Blade Helicopters (eFlite) 400 Helicopters

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com