Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 08:02 PM   #1
2thDr
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Default Helicommand position mode circling

I have helicommand set up on my Trex 600 and in horizontal mode it works pretty well, however, when in position mode the helicopter starts to move in large circles (about 10 feet diameter) (all the while facing the same direction). Like it's TRYING to stay in the same position, but it gets caught up in a spiral movement, like it's trying to go down a toilet bowl slowly..... Has anyone had this happen? What do I need to do?
2thDr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:54 AM   #2
Trooper
Registered Users
 
Posts: 466
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Default

I've not had this happen to me.
Have you tried trimming it out or using Autotrim?

Ian
Trooper is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:15 AM   #3
R.Lim
Registered Users
 
Posts: 539
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Breda , The Netherlands
Default uncorrect blade rotation direction

I think you have uncorrect setting up the blade rotation direction. With the soft ware it is much easyer to change the direction. You have probably anticlock wise instead of clock wise direction of the mainblade programmed.
R.Lim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:17 AM   #4
2thDr
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Default

I will check, but I'm pretty sure it is correct.

Edit: I checked. My blades rotate clockwise when viewed from above. I have the helicommand main rotor direction set to "right". Is that correct?

I have the servo travel for aileron and elevator set to 60.
Neutral roll attitude set to 4
Horizontal gain (sensor total) set to 8
Stick sensitivity gain set to 5
Horizontal gain (position mode) set to 8
Foreward freewheel set to 6
elevator gain portion set to 7
Positioning speed set to 6
2thDr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:42 AM   #5
2thDr
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trooper View Post
I've not had this happen to me.
Have you tried trimming it out or using Autotrim?

Ian
Yes, I've used autotrim and it is trimmed pretty nicely in horizontal mode.
2thDr is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 03:12 PM   #6
R.Lim
Registered Users
 
Posts: 539
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Breda , The Netherlands
Default sencor window

check the sencor window, maybe it is dirty or blocked
R.Lim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:00 PM   #7
Trooper
Registered Users
 
Posts: 466
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Default

Is the unit mounted Level?

Ian
Trooper is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:03 PM   #8
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Hi The value 8 for pos and hor mode is a bit low I set it to max and then reduce it on my transmitter. If you do not have transmitter control increase the pos gain a bit default is 70. Be a little carefull when testing to much gain and the heli will dance not enough and it will not hold position. Hope this helps Ivor
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com